Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNBISNET: United Nations Bibliographic Information System
"Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis as a result of retrospective conversion. UNBISnet also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward. "
Voting Record Sources
United Nations voting records:
- Use the Voting Records option in UNBISnet - this option provides“the full text of voting records for all resolutions which were adopted - either without a vote or by roll-call or recorded vote - by the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-) and the Security Council beginning with its 1st year (1946-).” For help with this option, refer to the UNBISnet User Guide.
- Public Law 79-264 requires that the U.S. State Department report to Congress U.S. participation in the United Nations; the report includes a voting record for the U.S. The reports and voting record are availabe online from 2000 through 2006 from the State Department. A comparison of how the U.S. voted on key issues to votes by other countries is also available in these.
- Reports of more recent votes in the United Nations can be found at the UN's Press Release site. Select the organization for which you want to find voting records in the first drop down box at the bottom of the Press Release page (A). In the "keyword(s) in headline" box type in "recorded vote" as an exact phrase (B). Make sure to select dates in the date box - default date is for the current day only (C).
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library