LibGuides: Ebooks: Free online Ebook collections

Free ebook collections

Bibliomania
800+ texts of classic literature, drama, and poetry together with detailed literature study guides. Large reference book and non-fiction section.

Brown Judaic Studies (BJS Open Access Books) This link opens in a new window
Brown Judaic Studies is a peer-reviewed series that publishes high quality, specialized books aimed primarily at a scholarly audience. They publish monographs, collections of essays, and translations of original sources in all fields of Judaic studies. 53 Open access titles are now available.

Digital Book Index
Provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free
Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
Google Books
Currently, Google Books has over 15 million searchable titles. Users are able to view some full text books depending on the publisher.
Hathi Trust
Includes public collections of e-books in PDF format. Viewing is free, but downloads are available only to partner institutions.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages.

Library of Congress Open Access Ebook collection This link opens in a new window
Anyone anywhere can now access a growing online collection of contemporary open access eBooks from the Library of Congress website.

National Academies Press (Sciences, Engineering, Medicine)
Offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book
OAPEN
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Online Books Page
A website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. IT indexes over two million online books
Open Library
Open Library is a catalog with over 20 million edition records online, and providing access to 1.7 million scanned versions of books, and links to external sources like WorldCat and Amazon, and Internet Archive

Open Research Library This link opens in a new window
Open Research Library is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books.

Project Gutenberg
Offers over 46,000 free ebooks to download to your PC, Kindle, iPad, iPhone, Android or other portable device. Choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats. Most books are in the public domain,free of copyright restrictions, mainly published prior to 1923.

Standard E-books This link opens in a new window
The Standard Ebooks project is a volunteer driven, not-for-profit effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks. The text and cover art in our ebooks is already believed to be in the public domain, and Standard Ebooks dedicates its own work to the public domain, thus releasing the entirety of each ebook file into the public domain. All the ebooks we produce are distributed free of cost and free of U.S. copyright restrictions.

World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world