Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to search for ebooks
The Drew library has access to over 250,000 ebooks! All of them, including the ebooks in the major collections below and ebooks in other databases, are available for free to Drew students, faculty and staff 24/7. They may be found by searching the Library catalog, searching ScholarSearch, or by accessing our individual ebook collections directly. All methods will be explained below.
Searching the catalog
All the ebooks that are available in the Library may be found by searching the catalog.
On the catalog page, use the item type drop down to select "Books", and the location dropdown to select "Online"
The result will be over 250,000 ebook titles that are available through the library. You may also search by title, author, subject, etc. The catalog entry will contain a link which will take you to the one of the ebook collections or platforms where you can access the title.
The library subscribes to major ebook collections, including Ebook Central, ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection, Sage Knowledge, Springer e-books, Oxford University Press Online and Oxford Scholarship Online. and Ebsco E-books. See tabs on this LibGuide for tips on using these platforms to access books. In addition, many of our other library databases contain ebooks. Find them easily by limiting your search of these databases to books. Keep in mind all of the books in these collections are also accessible through the catalog.
ACLS Humanities E-book Collection This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of around 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities.These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies, fully searchable and recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Brown Judaic Studies (BJS Open Access Books) This link opens in a new window
Brown Judaic Studies is a peer-reviewed series that publishes high quality, specialized books aimed primarily at a scholarly audience. They publish monographs, collections of essays, and translations of original sources in all fields of Judaic studies. 53 Open access titles are now available.
Cambridge E-books This link opens in a new window
We have access to selected books on the Cambridge platform. Click on "Only search what I have access to" to see the titles we have, and limit to books.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebrary is now EBook Central. Same content, different look. Create an account to save content to your own bookshelf.
This service, which provides access to more than 125,000 ebooks for online reading, includes both scholarly academic publications and non-academic popular publications.
When looking for academic materials, readers are encouraged to scrutinize the author, publisher, and publication date of each text.
Ebsco E-books This link opens in a new window
A wide selection of e-books from top publishers and presses. Books may be viewed online or checked out for up to 7 days. See our LibGuide for more information:https://ebsco.libguides.com/ebooks
Fordham Scholarship Online-Religion This link opens in a new window
Fordham University Press religion e-books.
JSTOR Ebooks This link opens in a new window
We have access to a limited number of ebooks that we have purchased.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion This link opens in a new window
Full text of Oxford University Press books in the subject area of religion.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Hosting more than 5,100 titles, SAGE Knowledge is home to a
range of eBook and eReference content, mostly in the social sciences, including scholarly monographs,
reference works, handbooks, series and professional development titles. Search the Library catalog for specific titles, or use this link to search the Sage site directly.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
See ScienceDirect LibGuide for access information: http://libguides.drew.edu/SCIDIRECT
The Elsevier Science Direct journal and book collection covers physical and life sciences, as well as social sciences and other disciplines; indexes over 2,800 journals and 1900 books; full text available for over 1,000 journals. Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content, please send the article citation, or title and author, to email: email@example.com, or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan
SpringerLink EBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Drew has access to 26,000 EBook titles across multiple disciplines, with a focus on Science, Technology, Engineering and Medicine. The collection also covers education, business, and behavioral and social sciences . Search the Library catalog for specific titles, or search and browse the SpringerLink site directly.
Taylor and Francis Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Drew has access to ebooks from multiple disciplines, with a stronger focus on: Business, Management and Economics; Media and Communication; Music, Theater and Performing arts; Environmental Science; Food and Nutrition; and Middle East studies. Search in the Library Catalog or directly in the Taylor and Francis site. Choose "Show content I have access to" for Drew content.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
We have access to a number of purchased ebooks on this site. Please see https://www-vlebooks-com.ezproxy.drew.edu/Vleweb/Help
for help in using this site
Restrictions on EBook use
Our licensing agreements with the various vendors determine the number of simultaneous users that are allowed with each e-book. Many of our individual e-book titles have limits of either 1 or 3 simultaneous users. Printing restrictions also will vary from vendor to vendor and in some cases even from e-book to e-book depending on our licensing agreements. Most of the e-books will have a restriction on how many pages you can print or email. The page limit will most likely be posted on the screen.
Electronic Resources Librarian
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library