"The Index Fungorum, the global fungal nomenclator coordinated and supported by the Index Fungorum Partnership (Landcare Research-NZ and RBG Kew : Mycology), contains names of fungi (including yeasts, lichens, chromistan fungal analogues, protozoan fungal analogues and fossil forms) at all ranks."

A database of 500,000+ scientific names for taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi and microorganisms that is searchable by common organism name, too.

Free online courses; incudes short video tutorials of math (including algebra and calculus), biology, chemistry, physics. Free registration required.

Useful animations for understanding cellular processes, e.g. meiosis, electron transport, photosynthesis and more. Free app, “Vcell app” for handheld devices available through iTunes. From NDSU Molecular and Cellular Biology Education Project.

From the Wisconsin National Primate Center, the site is curated by the Lawrence Jacobsen Library staff and is "...designed to cover the broad field of primatology, providing original content and links to resources about nonhuman primates in research, education and conservation." ~from the website

Useful resource that offers a Bird Guide, Bird Cams, Birding Basics, and more. Bird Guide is searchable by popular or scientific name, shape or taxonomy. Information by species Includes identification, natural history, sounds, videos and a link to The Birds of North America Online. From the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

A virtual Lab on neurophysiology (located under topic: neuroscience, type: virtual lab) offers an opportunity to experience basic neuroscience research by following outlined procedures and by using “tools” for dissecting, observing, and collecting neurophysiological data from a leech. The “Biointeractive” part of HHMI website provides resources for students (and instructors) on a range of medical topics, but specifically on the brain and neuroscience. Searchable by topic, subtopic, type of resource, and series. From the the nonprofit research foundation, HHMI.

Searchable database of 3 types of neuronal properties: voltage gated conductances, neurotransmitter receptors, and neurotransmitter substances. Tutorial for searching neuron properties available. From the Yale School of Medicine, Department of Neurobiology.

Contains six (6) related databases that support experimental & theoretical research on the membrane properties that mediate information processing in nerve cells, using the olfactory pathway as a model system. All six databases have the same structure, which allows continuous navigation between them. From the National Institute for Deafness and other Communication Disorders, Yale University.

Information on the structural basis of synaptic function. Includes an atlas of ultrastructural neurocytology, images of brain structures and cells, tutorials, and tools for analysis and 3-D reconstruction of structures from serial sections. From the Center for Learning and Memory, the University of Texas at Austin.

Resources for learning about biotechnology and DNA. Also: "Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement," "DNA from the Beginning," "Your Genes, Your Health," "DNA Interactive and myDNAi," "Inside Cancer and Inside Cancer Teacher Center," "Weed to Wonder," "Learn About Spinal Muscular Atrophy," "Genes to Cognition Online," etc. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. ​

Easy-to-use and read, comprehensive information source on genetic variations in humans that affect health. From the National Library of Medicine.

An online, searchable biochemistry textbook by Michael W. King of Indiana University School of Medicine.

Link to MEDLINE, MEDLINEplus and research resources for information on AIDS, cancer, bioethics, the history of medicine, mental health disorders, and more.

"Access to nearly 5,000 coastal related documents that GPO received from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Central Library."

Info on more than 30,000 fish species.

"A Global Information System On Coral Reefs."

Information on the care and management of laboratory and other animals, with bibliographies.

Updated edition of a respected guide on the care and use of terrestrial and aquatic animals in laboratory settings.

"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."

Economic data collected for all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development members, as well as annual reports, best practices, newsletters, projections, working documents and more.

Selected government sites of interest to biology and environmental studies majors, including geography, geology, and water.

The Texas A&M University Libraries provides online access to the U.S. Geological Survey, 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945.

Single gateway to local, federal and state online geospatial data. Platform developed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC)

Excellent search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names of geologic rock units of North America. Additional retrievable information includes unit’s age, location, extent, type locality, and history. From the US Geological Survey

Indexed maps and geospatial data (1880s-present) searchable on “themes” like geology, geophysics, marine geology, and selectable by state, county, map scale, and more. Prominent “Help” button useful for effective searching. From the Assoc of American State Geologists and the U.S. Geological Survey.

Online catalog and index of global agricultural information. Agriculture and related subjects include animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, and more. Browse by subject or audience; limit results by date, location, language and more. From National Agricultural Library collections.

From the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation service. Provides information about "vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories." Entries will include scientific name, common name(s), classification, species distribution map, and other categories such as images, legal status, links, wildlife connections. Also includes topical categories such as noxious/invasive, endangered/threatened, wetlands, etc.

"The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development. With over 300 employees, The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture."

The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is the world’s largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.

Find the status, geographic distribution, habitat, population, and assessment criteria for 60,000 species from all over the world using this search tool from the respected International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources.

Invasive species information clearinghouse searchable by location, species, and more. Excellent “I want to...” section will answer most questions. From the National Agriculture Library.

Selective use of overflowing site will provide information about Fish and Aquatic Conservation (particularly Aquatic Invasive Species, with some details about populations, but not comprehensive and no photos), Endangered Species (detailed information about population locations, critical habitat, conservation plans, and more, but oddly no photos), and the Coastal Program (promotes and supports efforts to protect and remediate vulnerable coastal ecosystems). From the U.S. Dept of the Interior.

WHC was created to encourage conservation and preservation of cultural and natural resources, both internationally and on a local basis. Website contains information about WHC’s activities and programs, including discussions about worldwide endangered sites and resources and about ongoing efforts to preserve global resources. From the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Pathway for biological sciences education. The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Resources for learning about biotechnology and DNA. Also: "Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement," "DNA from the Beginning," "Your Genes, Your Health," "DNA Interactive and myDNAi," "Inside Cancer and Inside Cancer Teacher Center," "Weed to Wonder," "Learn About Spinal Muscular Atrophy," "Genes to Cognition Online," etc. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. ​

eSkeletons is an interactive environment where one can examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through an osteology database created by students and faculty from the Department of Anthropology at the University of Texas at Austin. Search by taxon, through comparative anatomy, and use the legend to decipher terms used to describe the images.

Search for full text PDFs of results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology going back to the 1880s.​

From the National Library of Medicine. "This site celebrates twentieth-century leaders in biomedical research and public health. It makes the archival collections of prominent scientists, physicians, and others who have advanced the scientific enterprise available to the public through modern digital technology."​

Searchable database of PDFs of full text of 600+ volumes on various species and topics. Note that Drew University Library has these in print or microform at SuDoc SI 1.27:xxx (where xxx is the volume number).

Searchable collection of writings of Alfred Russel Wallace, Charles Darwin’s contemporary and fellow British naturalist, known for 19th century contributions to fields of evolutionary biology and biogeography. Possible interest to environmental sciences, natural history, and history of scientific practices. From Dr. John van Wyhe, University of Singapore who’s published extensively on Darwin and Wallace.

Site provides access to information on clinical studies involving human volunteers experiencing a wide range of diseases and conditions. Study results are provided by the lead person and are updated during, or at the conclusion of the trial. From the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

"The Index Fungorum, the global fungal nomenclator coordinated and supported by the Index Fungorum Partnership (Landcare Research-NZ and RBG Kew : Mycology), contains names of fungi (including yeasts, lichens, chromistan fungal analogues, protozoan fungal analogues and fossil forms) at all ranks."

U of Minnesota indexes plant images and text from books and journals. See Selected Links to Plant Info & Images for text and images that are freely available to users.

Search by scientific name, title, author, subject for full text of books and papers digitized and provided by 12+ organizations, including Cambridge, Harvard, Cornell and the Smithsonian.

Limited information about species occurrences throughout the U.S. Searchable by scientific or popular species name or through interactive map. Other useful information can be “layered” with location, e.g. weather, soils, ecosystems and more. From the U.S. Geological Survey.

Search for full text PDFs of results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology going back to the 1880s.​

eSkeletons is an interactive environment where one can examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through an osteology database created by students and faculty from the Department of Anthropology at the University of Texas at Austin. Search by taxon, through comparative anatomy, and use the legend to decipher terms used to describe the images.

International researchers and institutions collaborate to organize information on the plant and animal fossil record.

“States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.

Detailed information about “major U.S. health issues”, including current health data for all 50 states, U.S. health policy news and information, and analysis of Affordable Care Act (ACA), i.e. “Obamacare”. Resource for studying U.S. healthcare policy. A privately funded, nonprofit group,

Health Care Reform legislation, blogs and news, from a librarian at Temple University.

Excellent U.S. national and state health statistical information searchable by broad categories like “public health”, “health care costs” and more. From a large U.S. private foundation.

Historical information (1952-1982) from the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR), a compilation of state health department reports. Resource for researching and analyzing U.S. disease trends. From the CDC, a federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services.

Digital collection of historical newspapers, public health reports and bulletins, and other materials relating to the 1918-1919 influenza epidemic, including analyses of the civic response and the political and economic ramifications on a U.S. city-by-city basis. From the University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine and Publishing.

Excellent U.S. national and state health statistical information searchable by broad categories like “public health”, “health care costs” and more. From a large U.S. private foundation.

Learn to design posters and power point presentations as well as how to write proposals, lab reports, dissertations, journal articles. ~From PennState University

A guide to help students develop first and second year humanities writing skills. By Joseph M. Williams and Lawrence McEnerney, at the University of Chicago.