Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Covers western art from late antiquity (4th c. AD) to 2009. CEASED PUBLICATION IN 2010. Indexes books, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs and articles.
List of museums with online presences.
Google Arts & Culture
Visit selected museums via virtual panorama shots and view “featured artworks at high resolution” and “zoom into paintings.”
Archives of American Art
From the Smithsonian, an extensive collection of images and background material on American art.
Links to online collections of museums, searchable by artist and specific works.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art. "... pairs essays and works of art with chronologies..."
Metropolitan Museum of Art – Collections
Descriptive database covering large sections of the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. For each item, may include photos and information such as Gallery label, additional views, provenance, exhibition history, references.
Metropolitan Museum of Art — Publications Portal
MetPublications is a portal to the Met’s publishing program. This resource will eventually offer access to nearly all books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum, including online publications. Current titles may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of out of print titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF, at no cost.
Smarthistory, a multimedia web-book about art and art history
Smarthistory.org is a free multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook. Started by Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker. a multi-media survey of art history web-book. Audios and videos about works of art found in standard art history survey texts, organized the files stylistically and chronologically, and text and still images.
Fashion Museum, Bath UK
Fashion history, modern and historical, as covered in the Fashion Museum and in the Victoria and Albert.
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library