Skip to Main Content
This free and open version of the bibliographic database listing the holdings of over 2 million libraries makes it easy to locate books in a library near you.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
Digital Public Library of America
Links to digitized books, manuscripts, exhibits, photos and videos
Search the contents of a vast array of books. Those that are covered by copyright (generally published in the last 70 years) are usually not fully available online, but you can check to see if Drew owns them, or you can request the works through Interlibrary Loan.
A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
Audio recordings of public domain books, read by volunteers. Quality varies. MP3, Itunes.
Online Medieval and Classical Library
“The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization. [Ignore the ads.]
A collection of poems and criticism, from the organization that publishes the magazine Poetry.
Digitized/transcribed/proofread public domain (classic) e-texts; epub, kindle, html, & pdf formats.
UPenn Online Books Page
Links to online books and text collections, curated by the University of Pennsylvania.
JSTOR Open Access Ebooks
A list of open access book titles from scholarly book publishers that are available through JSTOR.
Questions? Need Help? Email email@example.com
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library