Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

Media at the Drew Library: Open Access Video Sites

Drew Library makes video and audio available in several formats, for use by students, faculty and staff. This Guide explains the options.

Open Video Sites

This repository contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011. The majority of the films date to the golden age of U.S. educational and sponsored filmmaking after World War II up to the advent of portable video.

Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library of Congress American Memory collections.

The archive collects in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers.

A peer-populated platform for art history teachers. Has a few museum videos in connection with specific classes, mostly teaching materials. Very well curated.

Cinema newsreels, cinemagazines, and historic clips from 1902 to 1970.

This site contains almost all C-SPAN programs since 1987.

Cinemargentino is a library of Argentinian films that allows users to stream full movies, documentaries, and shorts for free. Some with subtitles, some without.

Free and universal access to a trove of full-length Chilean films and documentaries collected by Cineteca Nacional de Chile.

Crackle is full of films, TV shows, and original programming, mostly from Sony. It's free, yes, but there are ads during video playback.

  • Critical Commons - A community of people who seek to promote the use of media in teaching. The materials posted here are mostly presented using Fair Use guidelines

Over 1.5 million digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films, many public domain or available via Creative Commons license.

Get your Korean cinema fix with this YouTube channel devoted to selected films produced in South Korea during the past 70 years. The Korean Film Archive maintains this extensive collection. Subtitles in English provided!

Watch U.S. presidential campaign commercials from 1952 to 2016.

A large collection of movies, films and videos that are all free to use.

More than 500 mostly Soviet-era classics made by legendary Russian studio Mosfilm. From Battleship Potemkin and Alexander Nevsky to Moscow Does Not Believe in Tears, it's all here.

Documentaries, animation, shorts, and informational films that are, just like Canada, more fascinating than you can imagine. Many films are free, streaming, and some are downloadable.

Netlix has made a selection of their documentary features and series available on their  YouTube channel.

Links to more than 1,000 free movies available online collected by non-profit group of educators. Includes film noir, horror, silents, shorts, comedy, drama, and more.

A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning purposes.

Highlights scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy.

  • TED Talks -  Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.

Free films and TV shows from major studios, albeit with ads.

Much of the Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum is viewable online. It features thousands of clips pertaining to the Holocaust and World War II.

  • Vimeo - A social network of video producers. This is a great place to look for a wide variety of content- some is completely open for redistribution, some is open access.

Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.

  •  

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library