LibGuides: CHEM 250L: Organic Chemistry Lab: Personal Care Product Lab: Finding Articles

Search Tools

Identifying primary sources in the sciences
A detailed guide for help identifying primary literature in the sciences, including discussions about peer review, abstracts, and review articles. ~from Drew University Library

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®,
CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. (Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for a CAS SciFinder Account.)

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubChem Project
PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. Integrated with Entrez, which is NCBI’s primary search engine, PubChem also provides compound substance data.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Scopus finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See ScienceDirect LibGuide for access information: http://libguides.drew.edu/SCIDIRECT
The Elsevier Science Direct journal and book collection covers physical and life sciences, as well as social sciences and other disciplines; indexes over 2,800 journals and 1900 books; full text available for over 1,000 journals. Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content, please send the article citation, or title and author, to email: reference@drew.edu, or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan

Getting to Full-text - "how to"

How to search for an article at Drew

Most databases have a "Find it @ Drew" button to do the search for you; SciFinder does not, and their link to sources button is unreliable. If "Find it @ Drew" is not available to you:

Copy the title of the article you're looking for and paste it into the ScholarSearch box on the Library's Research Resources page (http://www.drew.edu/library/research)

Getting full-text from ScienceDirect

Looking for full-text of a ScienceDirect article? Use LibraryCHAT(when available) to make your request. Simply supply the article information and your name and email through the CHAT box, and the Librarian will retrieve for you.

Finding full text at Drew in Find it @Drew

When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:

Find it @ Drew for journal article available

Finding full-text at Drew -- What if we don't have it?

If we don't have access to the journal/article online, Find it @Drew will give you links

to look for it online as free, open access via Google Scholar
to request it through our Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad)

NOTE: The first time you request an article or book via ILLiad (our InterLibraryLoan system), you will be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan; books can take longer.

You can always ask the librarian on chat reference to help you check whether the article is available elsewhere.

If you already have information about a specific article (author, journal or magazine title, title of the article, etc.), use Drew's Journal List Search. Enter the title of the journal or magazine, and then drill down to the specific item you need.

Library Guides