LibGuides: Subject Guide: Chemistry: Find Articles

Article resources

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®,
CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. (Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for a CAS SciFinder Account.)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Scopus finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to journals published by the American Chemical Society. For more information See this LibGuide

Go to http://libguides.drew.edu/ACS-academic-core for a list of ACS titles that offer full access to users in 2018.

Proquest Science Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1,145+ journals in science — 965+ full text. 1986-.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Magazine, online, 1997-present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See ScienceDirect LibGuide for access information: http://libguides.drew.edu/SCIDIRECT
The Elsevier Science Direct journal and book collection covers physical and life sciences, as well as social sciences and other disciplines; indexes over 2,800 journals and 1900 books; full text available for over 1,000 journals. Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content, please send the article citation, or title and author, to email: reference@drew.edu, or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan

Green Chemistry
Journal that offers research on the development of alternative sustainable technologies, e.g. the design of greener and safer chemicals and materials, the use of sustainable resources, and the chemical aspects of renewable energy. ~from the publisher.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® (1950-present)The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database. Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window Royal Society of Chemistry is the world's leading Chemistry Community. We have access to some content of 17 RSC journals, with other content available through inter-library loan. Search scientific research content from RSC Publishing in one simple search SEARCH:
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.

Getting to Full-text - "how to"

1. ScholarSearch - finding full-text

If you are searching in Scholar Search, you will see both books and articles.

Some databases have full text incorporated in them; almost all of our databases, however, are connected to "Find it @Drew" which will check all our electronic journal sources to see if an article is available.
If the articles are directly connected into the database, it will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan.

For many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:

2. Finding full text at Drew

When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:

3. Finding full-text at Drew

If we don't have access to the journal/article online, Find it @Drew will give you links

to look for it online as free, open access via Google Scholar
to request it through our Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad)

NOTE: The first time you request an article or book via ILLiad (our InterLibraryLoan system), you will be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan; books can take longer.

If you already have information about a specific article (author, journal or magazine title, title of the article, etc.), use Drew's Journal List Search. Enter the title of the journal or magazine, and then drill down to the specific item you need.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a service by which Drew students, faculty and staff can submit requests to borrow materials not held by the Drew Libraries. Users can request journal articles, books and book chapters.

You can submit an interlibrary loan request directly from our databases, through Worldcat, or by going to the InterLibrary Loan system directly.
Before submitting a request, please check the Drew Library Catalog for books or Journal List to be sure that the material is not available here. Ask a librarian for help if you're not sure.
You may also submit an ILL request directly through Worldcat and many of our other electronic databases. Look for the link that says “Request an Interlibrary Loan” in the item record.
ILL can usually obtain items without a fee, but Overdue and Late Pickup fines are in effect.
Note: Books may take up to 2 weeks to arrive. Articles may arrive more quickly (sometimes the same day!) but please allow at least 5 business days for arrival. Average turnaround time for articles is 2.4 days; for books, 8 days)

Interlibrary Loan Request Use to place interlibrary loan (ILL) requests, check on request status, and download electronic copies of ILL items.
more...less...
Use your Drew userid (without the @drew.edu) and Drew email password to login.
Drew Journals List List of journals by title, with links to Drew's subscription access (electronic and some print) for each.

FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org

Research Guides

Subject Guide: Chemistry

Reference Librarian