LibGuides: Subject Guide: Chemistry: Web Resources

Websites

CheMagic - the Virtual Model Toolkit
Useful tool designed to help visualize molecules while providing additional chemical data about the compound. Typing the name of the compound of interest will result in the appropriate ball-and-stick model, as well as a space-filling model. Right-clicking on the model gives you an extensive menu of options, including the ability to export it in a variety of image formats. Created by Dr. Otis Rothenberger, Chemistry faculty, Illinois State University (retired).
eMolecules – Searching the World’s Chemistry
Locate suppliers of chemicals using structure, CAS registry numbers or names. Find spectra for 500 selected compounds free.
PubChem Project
PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. Integrated with Entrez, which is NCBI’s primary search engine, PubChem also provides compound substance data.

ACToR
A collection of databases with toxicity data on 500K+ chemicals that have been studied for environmental or human health risks that is searchable by chemical name, structure and other identifiers. From the EPA.
ACS Green Chemistry Institute
Promotes green chemistry and green engineering through news, teaching aids, and resources
TOXNET
Several databases from the US National Library of Medicine covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Household products database
From National Institutes of Health and National Library of Medicine, includes a section on Personal Care that lists ingredients of brand name products with CAS registry numbers. It is also searchable by ingredient and includes links to other National Library of Medicine databases.

Linus Pauling and the Nature of the Chemical Bond: A Documentary History
Easy to navigate website offers the biography of the chemist Linus Pauling and the history of the nature of the chemical bond. This website offers access to materials in different formats, e.g. audio, video, manuscripts and photos. Primary resources include correspondence between Pauling and other notable scientists of his time, e.g. Schrodinger and Heisenberg. Information regarding the research that led to Pauling’s 1954 Nobel Prize in Chemistry is highly browsable.From the Special Collections & Archives Research Center at the Valley Library, Oregon State University.

ACS Green Chemistry Institute
Promotes green chemistry and green engineering through news, teaching aids, and resources
ChemistryViews
Supports content from “ChemViews Magazine”, a trade journal of ChemPubSoc Europe. Searchable by chemical discipline or content category, with “ChemViews” articles, reviews and links to scholarly papers accessible through “News” tab.

Chemogenesis WebBook
Supplementary resource for mastering chemistry principles, particularly relating structure and reactivity to the periodic table. Includes video tutorials, online practice drills, and databases. Independent group led by U.K. chemist, Dr. Mark Leach.
General Chemistry: Starting Points for Students
Links to tutorials and resources for general chemistry.
Martindale’s Chemistry Center
Main categories include: periodic tables, chemicals and biochemicals, databases, chemistry courses, and textbooks.
Virtual Text of Organic Chemistry
Interactive textbook with quizzes to check comprehension by William Reusch of Michigan State University. Copyright 1999, but updated in 2006. Choose Jmol-based version.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
Learn to design posters and power point presentations as well as how to write proposals, lab reports, dissertations, journal articles. ~From PennState University
Writing in College – A Short Guide to College Writing
A guide to help students develop first and second year humanities writing skills. By Joseph M. Williams and Lawrence McEnerney, at the University of Chicago.

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is a free online resource for identifying or confirming journal titles and abbreviations of publications indexed by Chemical Abstract Service since 1907. Search by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN (information from CAS website).

ChemSpider This link opens in a new window A free chemical structure database, searchable by chemical name or structure, providing access to 25 million+ structures, properties and associated information from RSC–the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Common Chemistry
Not a comprehensive CAS Registry Number lookup service but Common Chemistry does provide a way to quickly and easily find names or CAS Registry Numbers for chemicals of general interest. CAS has collaborated with Wikipedia in developing this resource and encourages you to use the Wikipedia link (when available) or other sources of general information on chemistry, to learn more about these chemicals. ~from webpage