LibGuides: Subject Guide: Chemistry: Additional resources

Additional resources

Encyclopedia of Chromatography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A guide to specific chromatographic techniques and principles, providing a basic introduction to the science and technology of the method, as well as additional references on the theory and methodology for analysis of specific chemicals and applications in a range of industries.

A Dictionary of Chemistry
- This link opens in a new window
A good reference resource for faculty and students, as it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry. This edition offers broader coverage in areas including nuclear magnetic resonance, polymer chemistry, nanotechnology and graphene, and absolute configuration.
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
- This link opens in a new window
The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) sets the international standards for chemical nomenclature and terminology. This online work, also known as the "Gold Book", collects all of the IUPAC standards, plus some related mathematical and physical standards (e.g. units of measurement). Search the compendium by text and/or structure, with links between related terms and concepts.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
- This link opens in a new window
Entries are short and informative, covering details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. ~from the publisher

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition - online
This 98th Edition contains several new features including a major update to the table of isotopes, the first major compilation of high quality data of protein-ligand binding thermodynamics, and a new collection of NMR data critical for understanding outcomes of organic syntheses. Twelve lists have been updated incl, the physical properties of organic compounds and the latest experimental values of bond dissociation energies. ~from the Publisher

The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
Call Number: Reference RS51 .M4 2006
ISBN: 9780911910001
Publication Date: 2006-11-03
Information on 12,000+ chemical compounds including organic chemicals, botanicals, cosmeceuticals, nutriceuticals, pharmaceuticals, natural products, dyes, traditional medicines. Shows chemical and common names, empirical formula, structures for 8500 compounds, CAS registry numbers and citations to patent and chemical literature (usually first identification or synthesis info). Indexes by CAS registry number, empirical formula, common name, chemical name.

NIST Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopic Data
From the introduction: “a selection of the most important and frequently used atomic spectroscopic data in an easily accessible format.”

NIST X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database
XPS data compiled by the NIST containing "over 22,000 line positions, chemical shifts, doublet splittings, and energy separations of photoelectron and Auger-electron lines." From the National Institute of Standards and Technology .
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS
Contains MS (electron impact), FT-IR, 1H NMR, 13C NMR, Raman, and ESR spectral data. Over 34,000 compounds total. Access simply requires clicking/accepting disclaimer. Maintained by the Japanese National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST).
NIST Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopic Data
From the introduction: “a selection of the most important and frequently used atomic spectroscopic data in an easily accessible format.”