LibGuides: Government Information: Preserving U.S. Government Data

About this Page

A great many individuals and groups have set themselves to the capture and preservation of as much of U.S. Government data and information as possible. This page serves as the Library's gathering place for reliable, alternative means to discover and access previously public-accessible data and research.

Information will be added here as more of these efforts come online (or become otherwise available).

Please note that these are just some recommended starting points. If you need assistance tracking down something particular, please do not hesitate to contact one of the librarians directly, or by emailing reference@drew.edu.

Organizations, Links, and More

Constantly updated, this crowdsourced Data Rescue Efforts document maintained by the Data Rescue Project (also on BlueSky), is thorough and dynamic, and it is shaping up to be the best starting point.
The American Medical Association, via their YouTube channel, is issuing statistical updates similar to those discontinued by the CDC
GovWayBack
End of Term 2024 Web Crawls, also from the Internet Archive
Public & Environmental Data Partners
- A few direct links:

Data.gov Archive
From Harvard Library Innovation Lab Team: The 16TB collection includes over 311,000 datasets harvested during 2024 and 2025, a complete archive of federal public datasets linked by data.gov.
Data Rescue Project
"The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations. [Their] goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. [...] Efforts include: data gathering, data curation and cleaning, data cataloging, and providing sustained access and distribution of data assets."
GovWayBack
From the Internet Archive, "Access historical versions of U.S. government websites from before January 20, 2025 with a simple URL change."
Public & Environmental Data Partners
"[C]ommitted to preserving and providing public access to federal environmental data [...] a volunteer coalition of several environmental, justice, and policy organizations, researchers across several universities, archivists, and students who rely on federal datasets and tools to support critical research, advocacy, policy, and litigation work. "
End of Term Archive
"The End of Term Web Archive contains federal government websites (.gov, .mil, etc) in the Legislative, Executive, or Judicial branches of the government. Websites that were at risk of changing (i.e., whitehouse.gov) or disappearing altogether during government transitions were captured. Local government websites, or any other site not part of the federal government domain were out of scope."
U.S. Government Web & Data Archive 2025
"For the End of Term 2024, partners have joined efforts again to preserve public United States Government websites at the conclusion of the presidential administration ending January 20, 2025. This web harvest – like its predecessors in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020 – is intended to document the federal government’s presence on the World Wide Web during the transition of presidential administrations and to enhance the existing collections of the partner institutions."
CyberCemetery
"An archive of government web sites that have ceased operation, e.g. web sites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report. Hosted by the University of North Texas."
Joseph R. Biden Jr. Presidential Library
"In January 2025, the White House website was archived as a way to preserve the online presence of the administration of President Joseph R. Biden Jr. The official files that make up a Presidential administration's website are preserved in the National Archives’ Executive Office of the President Electronic Records Archive."
DataLumos
"DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos. Agency data known to be archived there already include FEMA and IMLS."
Healthy Regions & Policies (HeRoP) Lab - U of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
"Preserved datasets and guidances include: The Center for Disease Control (CDC); The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)"
Source Cooperative - Data.gov Mirror
"A project of the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab, this is a regularly updated mirror of Data.gov, the US federal government data finding and storage site. "
PublicData
"Mirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server. Includes retrieved data sets from CDC, DoE, NIH, and NOAA."
The Data Liberation Project
"An initiative to identify, obtain, reformat, clean, document, publish, and disseminate government datasets of public interest."
Climate Data Harvest Project
"Society of American Archivist's efforts to harvest climate and environmental data, e.g. End of Term Presidential Harvest. Also lists other climate data harvesting initiatives."
Environmental Data & Governance Initiative
"An international network of academics and nonprofits "building online tools, events and research networks to proactively archive public environmental data and ensure its continued public availability."
Department of Education and NCES (UC Santa Barbara Archives)
"Public Data from Department of Education and NCES. Mirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server from UC Santa Barbara."

Journalist's Resource

The Journalist's Resource, run by the Harvard Kennedy School's Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics, and Public Policy has been providing coverage of the shifts in the availability of U.S. Government reports and data.

Overview Article: Researchers rush to preserve federal health databases before they disappear from government websites

Ongoing list of Resources: As the US government removes health websites and data, here’s a list of non-government data alternatives and archives

Research Guides

Government Information

About this Page

Organizations, Links, and More

Journalist's Resource