Skip to Main Content
Summaries and Definitions
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory
Call Number: Reference PN 81.E43 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Call Number: Reference PN 81.J554 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Drama Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism sets. Collects critical writing about literary works/authors.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Author biographies, work overviews, literary criticism and bibliographies.
New Literary History of America, 2009 This link opens in a new window
From Harvard UP, a collection of essays with brief bibliographies. Check the table of contents: essays are arranged by time period.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, 2004 This link opens in a new window
350 essays on American literary history from the 1600s to the present; essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, major works, literary movements, periods, and themes.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, 2006 This link opens in a new window
History of literature in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin)– individual authors and particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library