LibGuides: ARLT 905: Joy of Scholarly Writing: Cite Sources

Help with Citation Formats

MLA Handbook, 9th ed., online
The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements—facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date—that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more.

What citation style you use depends on the discipline. For the most common formats, consult:

Purdue OWL: Research and Citation Resources
"These OWL resources will help you use the research you have conducted in your documents. This area includes material on quoting and paraphrasing your research sources, as well as material on how to avoid plagiarism."

LINK for class slides about citation management discussion.

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
- This link opens in a new window
From the Chicago Manual, 17th edition, for the Notes/Bibliography style.
Video: Chicago Style, 17th Edition: Journals This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on journals (see the companion videos for information on book and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
Video: Chicago Style, 17th Edition: Books and Ebooks This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on book citations (see the companion videos for information on journal and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
Video: Chicago Style, 17th Edition: Websites and Social Media This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on web resources (see the companion videos for information on book and journal citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.

Citation Management Tools

There are a number of different programs that will help you collect, manage and format the citation information for your research resources. The following are free ones the library is currently supporting:

Endnote Online / Endnote Web

Free online version of classic citation manager software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project, sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.

You'll need to sign up for EndnoteWeb and install the Cite-While-You-Write tool.

Please contact the Library at email reference@drew.edu with questions or for help.

Endnote Online This link opens in a new window A web-based citation management tool available through the web via the Drew Library subscription to Web of Science and Knowledge. Endnote Online allows you to collect, track and manage the citations for articles you are using for papers or research, and to output those citations in any one of many different citation styles. While you should still plan to double-check your citations, Endnote Online/ MyEndnoteWeb uses the same high-quality citation formatting techniques as EndNote. Use this link to access Endnote Online from off campus if you want to see the "Find it @Drew" link for your citations.

Zotero

Zotero is a free citation management program with an online storage component. It can be downloaded from zotero.org

You'll want to sign up for a zotero.org account to save your references, and install the helper apps for your browser and Word.

Notes for Drew users: https://uknow.drew.edu/confluence/x/Z46RAw

http://www.zotero.org

More citation management info

Please go to this LibGuide for more information about citation managers, including instructional videos.

Library Guides

ARLT 905: Joy of Scholarly Writing: Cite Sources

Help with Citation Formats

Citation Management Tools

More citation management info