Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

ARWR 905: Joy of Scholarly Writing: Find Articles and Essays

Essays in books or journal articles will tend to be fairly narrowly focused, so it may be best to look for these after you have a sense of your topic.  If your searching returns 10,000 results, you'll likely want to narrow your topic a bit.  If a search returns NO results, either you'll need to work on your terminology OR - congratulations, no one else has had the idea you have!

Choosing the Type of Search Tool

 

Indexes
Narrower results, but often more relevant

Full-Text
Broader results, less focused. 
Much higher granularity, and good for identifying theoretical approaches.
General
Helpful for beginning
research, and for interdisciplinary topics.

Academic Search Premier

ProQuest Research Library

WorldCat

JSTOR

Project Muse

ScholarSearch

Science Direct

Google Scholar

Discipline-Specific

America:  History and Life‚Äč

ATLA Religion Index

Education Research Complete

Historical Abstracts

MLA Bibliography

(APA) PsycInfo

AnthroSource

ProQuest Sociology

PsycArticles

 

Search Tools for Articles and Essays

Choosing Vocabulary

Often the key to successful searching is finding the right terms to search.

  • Try a keyword search and identify alternative terms for your topic within the relevant results.
  • If the search tool you're using has a thesaurus, check your terms for additional vocabulary being used by the database.
  • Continue to expand your vocabulary, combining similar terms with OR:

Find Full Text

ScholarSearch - finding full-text

If you are searching in Scholar Search, you will see both books and articles.

Some databases have full text incorporated in them; almost all of our databases, however, are connected to "Find it @Drew" which will check all our electronic journal sources to see if an article is available.
If the articles are directly connected into the database, it will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan.

For many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:

Finding full text at Drew

When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:

Finding full-text at Drew

If we don't have access to the journal/article online, Find it @Drew will give you links

  • to look for it online as free, open access via Google Scholar
  • to request it through our Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad)

NOTE: The first time you request an article or book via ILLiad (our InterLibraryLoan system), you  will  be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan;  books can take longer.

If you already have information about a specific article (author, journal or magazine title, title of the article, etc.), use Drew's Journal List Search.  Enter the title of the journal or magazine, and then drill down to the specific item you need.

Reviews of the Literature

Literature reviews try to summarize the research that has been done within the previous year(s).  There are a few works that are devoted only to reviews of the literature.  These include:

To locate literature reviews within a specific discipline, add:

"literature review" OR "review of the literature"

to a subject search within a specialized database such as those listed in the section at the top of this page.  Warning:  except in history, it's possible that the focused topic you're working on does not have an explicit literature review.  In that case, try to place your subject within a broader or more theoretical context.

Get Help

chat loading...

Phone 973-408-3588; email reference@drew.edu

Reference Librarian

Profile Photo
Reference Department at Drew University Library
Contact:
Drew Library
36 Madison Ave
Madision, NJ 07940
973-408-3588
Website

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library