|
Florence Ellen Bell Scholar Award 2025-2026
 The Department of Special Collections and University Archives of the Drew University Library announces a call for applications for the Florence Ellen Bell Scholar Award. The Award is competitive and limited to only a few recipients per year. The Award provides $2,500 for expenses relating to academic research at the United Methodist Archives and History Center at Drew University in Madison, NJ, USA. Scholars of all nationalities are encouraged to apply.
The Award supports scholars using the Methodist Collections of Drew University and the General Commission on Archives and History (GCAH) for the United Methodist Church. The 2025-2026 Award must be used for travel, housing, or food costs related to use of the materials at The United Methodist Archives and History Center. A formal presentation of your research for an English-speaking audience is required during your visit to the Archives, in which members of the Archives and the Drew community will be in attendance. The presentation will be hosted within the Archives classroom space and a computer and screen will be made available to you.
Recipients must complete research residencies between July 1, 2025, and June 30, 2026.
The application form will be open from January 6 – April 30, 2025. Applications will be reviewed by the Florence Ellen Bell Awards Committee and applicants will be informed within two months of the application deadline. Guidelines for the research prospectus can be viewed here. Any questions can be sent to methodist@drew.edu.
Applicants may only apply to one grant per application cycle. Please do not apply for both the Florence Ellen Bell Scholar Award and the Bell Grant for the Study of Korean and Korean-American Methodism in the same application cycle.
|
Bell Grant for the Study of Korean and Korean-American Methodism 2025-2026
 The Department of Special Collections and University Archives of the Drew University Library announces a call for applications for the Bell Grant for the Study of Korean and Korean-American Methodism. The Award provides $1,000 for expenses relating to academic research at the United Methodist Archives and History Center at Drew University in Madison, NJ, USA.
The Grant supports scholars using the Methodist Collections of Drew University and the General Commission on Archives and History (GCAH) for the United Methodist Church, specifically for research on Korean and/or Korean-American Methodism. The 2025-2026 Award must be used for travel, housing, or food costs related to use of the materials at The United Methodist Archives and History Center. A formal presentation of your research for an English-speaking audience is required during your visit to the Archives, in which members of the Archives and the Drew community will be in attendance. The presentation will be hosted within the Archives classroom space and a computer and screen will be made available to you.
Recipients must complete research residencies between July 1, 2025, and June 30, 2026.
The application form will be open from January 6 – April 30, 2025. Applications will be reviewed by the Florence Ellen Bell Awards Committee and applicants will be informed within two months of the application deadline. Guidelines for the research prospectus can be viewed here. Any questions can be sent to methodist@drew.edu.
Applicants may only apply to one grant per application cycle. Please do not apply for both the Florence Ellen Bell Scholar Award and the Bell Grant for the Study of Korean and Korean-American Methodism in the same application cycle.
|
Methodist Resources at Drew
Explore the various print and archival holdings in Drew’s Methodist Library.
GCAH Resources
The United Methodist Archives and History Center holds one of the world’s largest archival collections on Methodism, with a global focus.
200 Years of Methodism
Learn about the story of United Methodism in America.
A Methodist Bibliography
A bibliography on Methodist scholarship.
|
