Methodist Library | Methodist Resources

The United Methodist Archives and History Center holds one of the world’s largest collections on Methodism, with a global focus. Researchers may view all materials in the Wilson Reading Room. For questions regarding the collections, please contact methodist@drew.edu.

Search the Catalog for Methodist Books.

The Methodist Library strives to collect Methodism in its broadest form, including international texts and books of affiliated denominations. The collection boasts early primary sources and an exhaustive collection of secondary sources that cover everything from social movements, to politics, to theology.

Browse the United Methodist Studies Basic Bibliography (2014, 6th Edition)

The archival collections available at the Methodist Center focus on the institutional records of The United Methodist Church, as well as personal papers of Bishops and missionaries. The United Methodist Archival Collections are administered by the General Commission on Archives and History and can be found through their website.

Search the Finding Aids of the Archival Collections

The United Methodist Archives and Methodist Center houses the world’s leading collection of Methodist periodicals. There are roughly 2000 titles, spanning more than 2 centuries. Accounting for nearly three-quarters of the Center’s total book collection, it is the most important single part of the Methodist collection, for a high percentage of its titles and issues are listed in no other library.

Search the Catalog for Methodist Periodicals

The Conference Journals document the workings of The United Methodist Church and its predecessor denominations. The Conference Journals are not cataloged, but have a complete listing.

Methodist Conference Journals List

The Methodist Library pamphlet collection consists of more than 15,000 titles published by Methodist-affiliated traditions in North America and overseas. The pamphlets are listed by collection, in searchable pdf files.

Methodist Library Pamphlet Collection

Rowe Methodist Pamphlet Collection

The Methodist Files contain small pieces of information about people, churches, and subjects. They cover Methodist individuals and Churches, as well as contain information about views of Methodists on various subjects.

Methodist Biographical File Collection

Local Church File Collection

Subject File Collection

The Methodist Library Image Collection at Drew University includes several thousand photographs, drawings and portraits of people, places and events associated with global Methodist history. Images range from the 17th century to the contemporary period.

Finding Aid for our Image Collection

The United Methodist Archives and History Center houses many artifacts from the Methodist tradition, including items from Francis Asbury, a bone from George Whitfield’s hand, a large collection of Wesley busts, and John Wesley’s death mask.

View the finding aid here

View Collection here