The United Methodist Archives and History Center is a collaboration between the Methodist Library of Drew University and the General Commission on Archives and History for the United Methodist Church (GCAH). The Methodist Library holds print materials related to United Methodism and related denominations, including over 50,000 books. The GCAH is the official archival repository for The United Methodist Church. Its collection includes records from the various denominational agencies within the United Methodist tradition, and personal papers of several bishops, denominational leaders, and missionaries from the 19th and 20th centuries.

The materials held in The United Methodist Archives and History Center are available to anyone interested in viewing them. Patrons can view all materials in the Wilson Reading Room. For more information, please contact methodist@drew.edu.

Methodist Resources

The United Methodist Archives and History Center holds one of the world’s largest collections on Methodism, with a global focus. Researchers may view all materials in the Wilson Reading Room. For questions regarding the collections, please contact methodist@drew.edu.

Using the Collections

Find out how to access and use our collections. Open to Drew students, staff, and faculty as well as outside researchers and visitors.

Research Grants

Learn about funding opportunities for research at The United Methodist Archives and History Center. The Bell Awards will not be offered for the 2025-2026 cycle. Researchers wishing to access the Archives may request an appointment.

About Methodism

Here you’ll find a brief history of Methodism as well as links to helpful resources, study guides, and other tools.