Which can be further divided into "Peer Reviewed" or not.
Peer reviewing is a scholarly journal publishing process where each article is sent out to other experts in the field to verify and suggest edits to the material-- i.e. extreme scholarly factchecking.*
Blogs or other website articles
*HOWEVER: not everything in a peer-reviewed publication is a scholarly article!
Subject specific search options: Drew Library has many options for searching for resources specific to your course subject, your major or minor, or your area of interest. You will get better search results for your project or assignment when using a subject-specific search engine.
Drew Library's suggested resources for researching topics related to economics, including the study of scarcity, the study of how people use resources and respond to incentives, or the study of decision-making (description adapted from the American Economic Assn).
Drew Library's suggested resources for researching topics related to physics, including the structure of matter and how the fundamental constituents of the universe interact (description adapted from Britannica.com).
Drew Library's suggested resources for researching topics related to study of governments, public policies and political behavior both in the United States and abroad (description adapted from the American Political Science Assn).
Drew Library's suggested resources for researching topics related to sociology, e.g. the study of social life, social change, and the social causes and consequences of human behavior (def'n adapted from asanet.org)
Drew Library's suggested resources for researching topics related to theater.
>>> At Drew Library, we have a search engine named Scholarsearch (not unlike Google) that searches all of our resources for helpful materials for your academic work -- and it even searches outside of our collection. See below for links to videos that describe and demonstrate how it works.
A large general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications covering a broad range of subjects. Many full text articles available.
>>> For subject-specifc databases (and more focused searches and results), please see next tab in this sub-Guide called "Search Tools by Subject (for DSEMs)" or go to "Resources by Subject."
In general, when searching in academic databases, use these tips to combine search terms
For phrases: use "quotation marks" around a phrase: e.g. "social media"
To find all forms of a word that begins the same, but has different endings: use a "wildcard" like an asterisk *. Using this notation tells the search engine to search for all forms of the word root, e.g. citizen* gives citizen, citizens, citizenship
To combine terms when you want both: use "AND" e.g. facebook AND democra*
To search terms when you don't want related synonyms: use "NOT" e.g. citizenship NOT immigration
To combine terms when you want either: use "OR" e.g. facebook OR twitter
To combine multiple terms: use parentheses to group the items you want searched in a specific way e.g. (facebook OR twitter) and (democra* not "democratic party")
Getting to Full-text - "how to"
ScholarSearch - finding full-text
If you are searching in Scholar Search, you will see both books and articles.
Some databases have full text incorporated in them; almost all of our databases, however, are connected to "Find it @Drew" which will check all our electronic journal sources to see if an article is available.
If the articles are directly connected into the database, it will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan.
For many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:
Finding full text at Drew
When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links.) Click one of the links to get to the full text:
Finding full-text at Drew
If we don't have access to the journal/article online, Find it @Drew will give you links
to look for it online as free, open access via Google Scholar
to request it through our Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad)
NOTE: The first time you request an article or book via ILLiad (our InterLibraryLoan system), you will be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan; books can take longer.