Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

DSEM: Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping

What's the Difference?

ScholarSearch
Advanced search

ScholarSearch is Drew Library's Google-like search of resources—both scholarly and not—available to our users. Unlike a Google search, your results will be reliable, trustworthy sources that you can use for your papers and projects. 

ScholarSearch is a great starting point for your research.  When you use ScholarSearch, you are searching for the many resources that are available at our library. This includes books, e-books, journal and newspaper articles (including peer-reviewed articles), book reviews, encyclopedia articles, government documents, streaming videos, and much more. It searches almost all of our databases at once!

Look here for books, print journals, and reserves.

The Library's catalog is called Locate. It provides a precise method for searching the Library's collection. You can use the catalog to find books, e-books, special collections, government documents, and other materials. You can also find these things using ScholarSearch, which mixes these items in with results from our database subscriptions. Both tools can be useful. Many students will prefer the greater range of results and ease of use of ScholarSearch, while others find the ability to limit results to items in the Drew collections and the ability to search certain specific facets to be very helpful.

Since the catalog focuses primarily on books, it's a good place to look for lengthy discussions of topics.

Databases are collections of information that can be searched. They hold journal articles, books, book chapters, indexes, bibliographies, audiovisual materials, and more. While most library databases have a specific subject focus, many are multidisciplinary, as well, and cover a variety of topics. Databases are specialized, scholarly resources that the Library subscribes to. You can explore the Library's databases by visiting the A-Z List. You can either browse them alphabetically, filter them by subject, type, or vendor, or search for something specific in the search box. 

Paper 2 Resources

  • Byron, Ellen. “Seeing Store Shelves Through Senior Eyes.” Wall Street Journal, Sep 14, 2009.
  • Elliott, Stuart. “The Older Audience Is Looking Better Than Ever.” New York Times, April 19, 2009.
  • Chaudhuri, Saabira. “Older Shoppers Are the Hot New Thing for Consumer Brands.” Wall Street Journal, January 30, 2021.
  • Moore, Elizabeth S. “Children and the Changing World of Advertising.” Journal of Business Ethics 52, (2004): 161-167.
  • Parmley Suzette. “Why retailers are bracing for the 'Silver Tsunami' and embracing senior shoppers.” The Philadelphia Inquirer, November 9, 2017.
  • Purtill, Corinne. “The Key to Marketing to Older People? Don’t Say ‘Old.’” New York Times, December 8, 2021.
  • Underhill, Paco. “Seniors in Stores.” American Demographics, April 1996.
  • _____. “Kids in Stores.” American Demographics, June 1994.
  • “Awesome, weird and everything else.” The Economist, December 19, 2020.
  • Byrnes, Nanette. “Secrets of the male shopper.” BusinessWeek, September 4, 2006.
  • Dennis, Charles, J. Joško Brakus, Gemma García Ferrer, Charles McIntyre, Eleftherios Alamanos, and Tamira King. “A Cross-National Study of Evolutionary Origins of Gender Shopping Styles.” Journal of International Marketing 26, no. 4 (2018): 38-53.
  • Feifer, Jason. “Axe’s highly scientific, typically outrageous, and totally irresistible selling of lust.” Fast Company, September 2012.
  • Goodman, Jillian. “Cup size isn’t everything.” Fast Company, October 2014.
  • Knowledge at Wharton Staff. “‘Men Buy, Women Shop’: The Sexes Have Different Priorities When Walking Down the Aisles.” Knowledge at Wharton, November 28, 2007.
  • Maheshwari, Sapna and Vanessa Friedman. “Victoria’s Secret Swaps Angels for ‘What Women Want.’ Will They Buy It?” New York Times, June 16, 2021.
  • Rockwood, Kate. “Separate. And equal.” Fast Company, October 2009.
  • Segran, Elizabeth. “Changing the model.” Fast Company, July/August 2016.
  • Wilson, Eric. “New Wrinkle in Men’s Wear: Shops Just for Men.” New York Times, September 5, 2012.

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, https://drew.edu/academic/student-resources/library/