LibGuides: CHEM 250L: Organic Chemistry Lab: Find Chemical Information

Chemical Information Resources

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®,
CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. (Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for a CAS SciFinder Account.)

PubChem Project
PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. Integrated with Entrez, which is NCBI’s primary search engine, PubChem also provides compound substance data.

ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
A free chemical structure database, searchable by chemical name or structure, providing access to 25 million+ structures, properties and associated information from RSC–the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Cosmetics Info : What's in My Products?
Cosmeticsinfo.org has information about ingredients most commonly used in cosmetics and personal care products in the United States. The Personal Care Products Council—an industry trade group—sponsors this site. It's good for ingredient uses and properties—not so much for toxicity information.
The Derm Review
This ingredient glossary is designed to help you learn more about common ingredients used in the cosmetic industry. It offers information about ingredient uses and toxicology.

Please note: This site is affiliated with cosmetic manufacturers and promotes their products. Consider their bias when using this site.
Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices
The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices provides comprehensive coverage of the taxonomy, botany, chemistry, functional properties, medicinal uses, culinary uses, and safety issues relating to over 250 species of herbs and spices. These herbs and spices constitute an important agricultural commodity; many are traded globally and are indispensable for pharmaceuticals, flavoring foods and beverages, and in the perfumery and cosmetic industries.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Provides concise, condensed, and prompt definitions of terms and phenomena in chemistry, biology, biochemistry, and more.
Google Patents
Patents (the registration of intellectual ownership of a product formula) can often give you information about the uses of a particular ingredient, so reading the patents in which a specific chemical comes up can be helpful. Usually, full-text patents are available at Google Patents. If you have trouble, please ask a librarian for help!

Consumer Product Information Database
The Consumer Product Information Database (CPID) contains health effects information for products used in the home and in some commercial/institutional settings that contain chemicals. The cpid is unique in that it will, for the first time, link brand names to health effects and allow consumers to select brands based on their individual sensitivity to specific chemical ingredients.
PubChem Project
PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. Integrated with Entrez, which is NCBI’s primary search engine, PubChem also provides compound substance data.

Accessing Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSBD) Content from PubChem
This document provides step-by-step instructions to effectively search for information about toxicity from the HSDB in PubChem.

EWG Skin Deep Database
A product of the (sometimes controversial) Environmental Working Group, Skin Deep was designed to create online safety profiles for cosmetics and personal care products. The site may provide diagrams, functions, and links to products containing the chemical, as well as citations for safety data.
MSDS: Materials Safety Data Sheets
Searching your chemical name in quotes (or CAS Number) and "MSDS" in Google will often result in these required sheets (offered by chemical suppliers) that summarize human health issues and handling of a particular chemical. The Safety Data Sheets (SDS) published by Sigma Aldrich tend to be fairly straightforward and easy to understand, so try adding "Sigma Aldrich" to your search to prioritize them.

Research Guides

CHEM 250L: Organic Chemistry Lab

Chemical Information Resources