LibGuides: CE 260: Action Scholars Seminar: Exploring Solutions: Find Sources

What's the Difference?

ScholarSearch is Drew Library's Google-like search of resources—both scholarly and not—available to our users. Unlike a Google search, your results will be reliable, trustworthy sources that you can use for your papers and projects.

ScholarSearch is a great starting point for your research. When you use ScholarSearch, you are searching for the many resources that are available at our library. This includes books, e-books, journal and newspaper articles (including peer-reviewed articles), book reviews, encyclopedia articles, government documents, streaming videos, and much more. It searches almost all of our databases at once!

ScholarSearch

The Library's catalog is called Locate. It provides a precise method for searching the Library's collection. You can use the catalog to find books, e-books, special collections, government documents, and other materials. You can also find these things using ScholarSearch, which mixes these items in with results from our database subscriptions. Both tools can be useful. Many students will prefer the greater range of results and ease of use of ScholarSearch, while others find the ability to limit results to items in the Drew collections and the ability to search certain specific facets to be very helpful.

Since the catalog focuses primarily on books, it's a good place to look for lengthy discussions of topics.

Using the Library Catalog

Databases are collections of information that can be searched. They hold journal articles, books, book chapters, indexes, bibliographies, audiovisual materials, and more. While most library databases have a specific subject focus, many are multidisciplinary, as well, and cover a variety of topics. Databases are specialized, scholarly resources that the Library subscribes to. You can explore the Library's databases by visiting the A-Z List. You can either browse them alphabetically, filter them by subject, type, or vendor, or search for something specific in the search box.

A-Z Databases

Student Activism
Reveal Digital’s Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today’s vibrant, continually unfolding actions.The completed collection will contain approximately 75,000 pages drawn from special collection libraries and archives around the country.The collection will capture the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States.
JSTOR
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers, from Library of Congress
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. Learn more
Digital Public Library of America
The mission of the Digital Public Library of America is to bring together “the riches of America’s libraries, archives, museums, and cultural heritage sites, and making them freely available to students, teachers, researchers, and the general public.”

Proquest U.S. Newsstream
1300+ newspapers, news websites and blogs, including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Gender Equity and Justice

In the last century, gender- and sex-based oppression has persevered, from the disproportionate maternal mortality rates of Black individuals to the coerced sterilization of Indigenous populations. In the latest threat to bodily sovereignty and gender equity, the overturning of Roe v. Wade in the U.S. and modern society writ large. This collection explores themes of gender oppression and inequity and examines the unjust systems that stifle equality.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 - Part I
A collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.

Part I presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond.
GreenFILE
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. For peer reviewed materials, check the box for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" found under Search Options -- Limit your results. (Through NJ State Libraries )

Research Guides

CE 260: Action Scholars Seminar: Exploring Solutions

LibKey Nomad

What's the Difference?

Databases