LibGuides: Subject Guide: Neuroscience: Web Resources

Websites

Allen Brain Atlas
An interactive, genome-wide image database of gene expression, with extensive information on the mouse brain. A combination of RNA in situ hybridization data, detailed reference atlases, and informatics analysis tools are integrated to provide a searchable digital atlas of gene expression. Non profit organization initially funded by Paul Allen.
Brain Info
Easy-to use online resource for indentifying brain structures, by name or location. Also has feature called "Neuromaps" that allows you to "map and display any kind of data on standard Atlas templates..." The Tools and Methods section contains "ontologies of human, macaque and rodent brain atlases, downloadable templates of the macaque brain, atlas creation methods and a link to the IA Tools Registry." From the Washington National Primate Research Center at the University of Washinton, Seattle.
BrainMaps.org
An interactive brain atlas based on over 20 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains. Images are searchable. From the Center for Neuroscience, University of California-Davis.
Comparative Mammalian Brain Collections
Images of, and information about well-preserved, sectioned and stained brains of mammals. Photographs of brains from over 100 different species of mammals can be viewed and downloaded . Also available are examples of stained sections from a wide variety of brains of special interest, including humans, chimpanzees, monkeys, and more. From the Department of Physiology, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan State University, the National Museum of Health and Medicine, and other contributing scientists.
Whole Brain Atlas
An introduction to basic neuroanatomy, with emphasis on the pathoanatomy of several leading central nervous system diseases. Includes MR and SPECT (single photon emission computed tomography) images of the brain with select afflictions, e.g. stroke, Alzheimer’s disease, and more. From the Departments of Radiology and Neurology at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, the Countway Library of Medicine, and the American Academy of Neurology.

ClinicalTrials.gov
Site provides access to information on clinical studies involving human volunteers experiencing a wide range of diseases and conditions. Study results are provided by the lead person and are updated during, or at the conclusion of the trial. From the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Howard Hughes Medical Institute's (HHMI) BioInteractive - Neuroscience
A virtual Lab on neurophysiology (located under topic: neuroscience, type: virtual lab) offers an opportunity to experience basic neuroscience research by following outlined procedures and by using “tools” for dissecting, observing, and collecting neurophysiological data from a leech. The “Biointeractive” part of HHMI website provides resources for students (and instructors) on a range of medical topics, but specifically on the brain and neuroscience. Searchable by topic, subtopic, type of resource, and series. From the the nonprofit research foundation, HHMI.
NeuronDB
Searchable database of 3 types of neuronal properties: voltage gated conductances, neurotransmitter receptors, and neurotransmitter substances. Tutorial for searching neuron properties available. From the Yale School of Medicine, Department of Neurobiology.
Neuroscience Information Framework
Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Department of Health and Human Services, and NIH Blueprint, this site offers neuroscience specific searching of primary literature (with links to full text when available), websites, and the hidden web.
SenseLab
Contains six (6) related databases that support experimental & theoretical research on the membrane properties that mediate information processing in nerve cells, using the olfactory pathway as a model system. All six databases have the same structure, which allows continuous navigation between them. From the National Institute for Deafness and other Communication Disorders, Yale University.
Synapse Web
Information on the structural basis of synaptic function. Includes an atlas of ultrastructural neurocytology, images of brain structures and cells, tutorials, and tools for analysis and 3-D reconstruction of structures from serial sections. From the Center for Learning and Memory, the University of Texas at Austin.

Howard Hughes Medical Institute's (HHMI) BioInteractive - Neuroscience
A virtual Lab on neurophysiology (located under topic: neuroscience, type: virtual lab) offers an opportunity to experience basic neuroscience research by following outlined procedures and by using “tools” for dissecting, observing, and collecting neurophysiological data from a leech. The “Biointeractive” part of HHMI website provides resources for students (and instructors) on a range of medical topics, but specifically on the brain and neuroscience. Searchable by topic, subtopic, type of resource, and series. From the the nonprofit research foundation, HHMI.

ADAM Medical Encyclopedia
Containing 4000 entries on diseases, symptoms, tests and surgeries and includes illustrations, this reference is from A.D.A.M., a company accredited by the American Accreditation HealthCare Commission and is also available in Spanish.
Medline Plus
Health topics, drug information, medical dictionaries and directories and links to organizations, publications, and consumer health libraries. From the National Library of Medicine.
National Library of Medicine - Health information
Link to MEDLINE, MEDLINEplus and research resources for information on AIDS, cancer, bioethics, the history of medicine, mental health disorders, and more.

Cell Biology Animation
Tutorial and animations of cell biology by John Kyrk, a graphic artist who is a biologist.
Khan Academy
Free online courses; incudes short video tutorials of math (including algebra and calculus), biology, chemistry, physics. Free registration required.
Virtual Cell Animation
Useful animations for understanding cellular processes, e.g. meiosis, electron transport, photosynthesis and more. Free app, “Vcell app” for handheld devices available through iTunes. From NDSU Molecular and Cellular Biology Education Project.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
Learn to design posters and power point presentations as well as how to write proposals, lab reports, dissertations, journal articles. ~From PennState University
Writing in College – A Short Guide to College Writing
A guide to help students develop first and second year humanities writing skills. By Joseph M. Williams and Lawrence McEnerney, at the University of Chicago.

Research Guides

Subject Guide: Neuroscience

Systems Librarian

Websites