Global warming and related issues studied through analysis of data sets, including source data, intermediate data, and output data. From a privately-funded group with U.C.-Berkeley science faculty participation.

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), along with other government agencies and academic institutions have compiled indicators related to the causes and effects of climate change in the EPA's report, Climate Change Indicators in the United States, available online and in print. Topics include: greenhouse gases, weather and climate, oceans, snow and ice, health&society, and ecosystems. From the U.S. EPA.

The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is the world’s largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.

Climatological data and analysis including climate predictions and historical analysis.From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Searchable reports (including the "Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change"), research findings, and other U.N. documents relating to global climate change. Some documents available in other languages, e.g. Arabic, Chinese, French, and more.

Information on small-scale, local, and sustainable solutions to reduce poverty, promote healthy communities, and protect natural resources.

"Resources for the Future improves environmental and natural resource policymaking worldwide through objective social science research of the highest caliber."

A collection of databases with toxicity data on 500K+ chemicals that have been studied for environmental or human health risks that is searchable by chemical name, structure and other identifiers. From the EPA.

"EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. "

Think tank that champions adoption of ecological footprint instead of carbon footprint for individuals, cities, nations. Find statistics, calculators, internship and job opportunities.

2011 Bibliography on oil spills compiled by NOAA, with links to full text of many cited documents.

Several databases from the US National Library of Medicine covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Formerly known as the Environmental Justice Geographic Assessment Tool, EJView is a mapping tool that allows users to create maps and generate reports using geographic filters and selected data sets. Demographic, health, environmental, and facility-level data are available for analysis as to their impact on human and environmental health within a geographic region. From the U.S. EPA.

Under the the Food and Drug Administration, CFSAN’s role is to assist in regulating, monitoring, and reporting on the safety of imported and domestic food and cosmetic products in the U.S. Recent initiatives and other information provided under subheadings: “Ingredients, Packaging & Labeling”, “Science & Research”, “Guidance & Regulation”, and more are found here. From the U.S. Food & Drug Administration.

Information about hydraulic fracturing (e.g. history of, basic practices, etc), without discussion of the risks associated with the practice. Chemical data, including which chemicals are used and why, is voluntarily submitted by oil and gas companies. “Find a Well” function allows searches for wells active since January 2011 by state, county, operator, or by map. From the Groundwater Protection Council which is comprised of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (governors from oil and gas producing states) and select state-run groundwater regulatory agencie

The Texas A&M University Libraries provides online access to the U.S. Geological Survey, 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945.

Single gateway to local, federal and state online geospatial data. Platform developed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), chaired by the Secretary of the U.S. Dept of Interior, and comprised of representatives from various federal agencies.

Excellent search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names of geologic rock units of North America. Additional retrievable information includes unit’s age, location, extent, type locality, and history. From the US Geological Survey.

Indexed maps and geospatial data (1880s-present) searchable on “themes” like geology, geophysics, marine geology, and selectable by state, county, map scale, and more. Prominent “Help” button useful for effective searching. From the Assoc of American State Geologists and the U.S. Geological Survey.

Encyclopedia of Earth is a free, searchable, electronic, collaborative, peer-reviewed reference source produced by scholars and experts that aims to cover all topics about the earth and its environment.

Images of earth searchable by geographic region, satellite, sensor, etc., related to agriculture, land surface and atmosphere. Credit NASA if using images.

Info on more than 30,000 fish species.

Think tank that champions adoption of ecological footprint instead of carbon footprint for individuals, cities, nations. Find statistics, calculators, internship and job opportunities.

Searchable reports (including the "Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change"), research findings, and other U.N. documents relating to global climate change. Some documents available in other languages, e.g. Arabic, Chinese, French, and more.

A single entry point for UN statistical databases. World Bank Unrestricted Resource
The World Bank provides technical and financial assistance to developing countries. This site provides information about individual countries, current World Bank projects, and topical issues related to the organization’s assistance, including sustainability.

Single gateway to local, federal and state online geospatial data. Platform developed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), chaired by the Secretary of the U.S. Dept of Interior, and comprised of representatives from various federal agencies.

Climatological data and analysis including climate predictions and historical analysis.From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.

Site facilitates access to technical data, regulatory material and compliance information, and the EPA policy line. Keyword and other search capabilities are provided.

Excellent search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names of geologic rock units of North America. Additional retrievable information includes unit’s age, location, extent, type locality, and history. From the US Geological Survey.

Selected government sites of interest to biology and environmental studies majors, including geography, geology, and water.

Promotes green chemistry and green engineering through news, teaching aids, and resources

Features include a very current news section and links to Actions to Take, publications, and many types of resources, plus a search engine.

Searchable e-zine with Reports, analysis, opinions from the Yale University School of Forestry and Environmental Studies.

Info on more than 30,000 fish species.

Searchable information about world’s oceans (including raw data, government maps, and digital historical documents) through “Ocean Archive System”. From the National Oceanographic Data Center.

An inventory of U.S. wetlands with accessible maps and statistical analyses of trends. Data are descriptive and downloadable by U.S. state. “Mapper” is online mapping and data display tool that shows the most current data for the National Wetlands Inventory. Other information includes latest news about wetlands, website sections devoted to Wetlands Data, Wetlands Status and Trends,Wetlands Layer (National Spatial Data Infrastructure), and the Wetlands Mapper. From the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Both digitized agricultural publications and images.

An "open repository of digital research and educational materials... digital information on New Jersey's environment."

Topics ranging from genetics and cell biology to ecology and environmental ethics. “Ecology” is searchable at beginner, intermediate and advanced levels, covering subcategories evolution, population ecology, conservation and restoration, ecosystem ecology, community ecology, and more. From Nature Education, a division of Nature Publishing Group.

An inventory of U.S. wetlands with accessible maps and statistical analyses of trends. Data are descriptive and downloadable by U.S. state. “Mapper” is online mapping and data display tool that shows the most current data for the National Wetlands Inventory. Other information includes latest news about wetlands, website sections devoted to Wetlands Data, Wetlands Status and Trends,Wetlands Layer (National Spatial Data Infrastructure), and the Wetlands Mapper. From the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Learn to design posters and power point presentations as well as how to write proposals, lab reports, dissertations, journal articles. ~From PennState University

A guide to help students develop first and second year humanities writing skills. By Joseph M. Williams and Lawrence McEnerney, at the University of Chicago.