Skip to Main Content
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Search by scientific name, title, author, subject for full text of books and papers digitized and provided by 12+ organizations, including Cambridge, Harvard, Cornell and the Smithsonian.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Find ebooks related to your subject area by selecting "Advanced" next to search button on Ebrary landing page, then select "Subject" from the drop down menu on the Advanced search page and enter your search terms.
eLS This link opens in a new window
Formerly Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, "eLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences and is an essential resource for students."
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by
Print copy in the Library of this 5 volume reference source.
Call Number: Ref HM856 .E53 2007 vol.1 - 5
Publication Date: 2007-08-27
Encyclopedia of Evolution This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering evolutionary biology, including behavioral ecology and developmental biology.
Encyclopedia of Global Change by
Encyclopedia covering types of phenomena that change life on Earth. “General research categories: altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies.”
Call Number: Ref GE149 .E47 2002 vol.1 -2
Publication Date: 2001-12-13
Environmental Debate: A Documentary History This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present. (~from the publisher)
Encyclopedia of Earth
Encyclopedia of Earth is a free, searchable, electronic, collaborative, peer-reviewed reference source produced by scholars and experts that aims to cover all topics about the earth and its environment.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
Print copy in the Library of this reference source.
Call Number: Ref QC981.8 .G56 E47 2008 vol.1 - 3
Publication Date: 2008-04-22
SAGE Reference Works: Browse encyclopedia and handbooks from this publisher covering all things "green"---green cities, green business, green consumerism, green culture, green energy...you get the idea! Search using the keyword "green" and select "Reference" as content type.
Global warming and related issues studied through analysis of data sets, including source data, intermediate data, and output data. From a privately-funded group with U.C.-Berkeley science faculty participation.
Data.gov This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic, including agriculture, climate, ecosystems, and more, to find data related to topics of interest.
EJView, from the Environmental Justice department of the US EPA
Formerly known as the Environmental Justice Geographic Assessment Tool, EJView is a mapping tool that allows users to create maps and generate reports using geographic filters and selected data sets. Demographic, health, environmental, and facility-level data are available for analysis as to their impact on human and environmental health within a geographic region. From the U.S. EPA.
EM-DAT – International Disaster Database
"EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. "
Data source for information on plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, including rare and endangered species. Information includes scientific and common names, conservation status, distribution maps, images for thousands of species, life histories, and conservation needs. NatureServe is a non-profit organization whose mission is "to provide the scientific basis for effective conservation action". ~ from the organizations's website.
NCDC – Image and Publications System
The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is the world’s largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.
Climatological data and analysis including climate predictions and historical analysis.From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
Agricultural topics segregated into subjects like Crops and Plants, Demographics, Charts and Maps, Environmental and others, providing information ranging from chemical usage on farms, producer demographics, and historical statistics reports (to 1936). Portal to the every-five-year Census of Agriculture. From the U.S. Dept of Agriculture.
A single entry point for UN statistical databases. World Bank Unrestricted Resource
The World Bank provides technical and financial assistance to developing countries. This site provides information about individual countries, current World Bank projects, and topical issues related to the organization’s assistance, including sustainability.
FDsys This link opens in a new window
Use advanced search to limit search "by collection" and/or date...better yet, contact our Gov Docs Librarian Rick Mikulski (firstname.lastname@example.org) for help finding the resources you need!
Evolution of the Conservation Movement
Search here for primary documents relating to the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, 1850-1920. You'll find books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage held by the Library of Congress. Courtesy of the American Memory Project, Library of Congress, .
Questions? Need Help? Email email@example.com
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library