Full-text searching of open and proprietary scholarly research on 18th-century literature and culture.

"The Broadside Verses provide a unique look into life in 19th century America, especially life in Maryland between 1860 and 1865, when the country was in turmoil, and immediately after the Civil War. Most of these verses have a political message, but others – advertisements, love songs, temperance songs, ballads about life and death – show what life was like for Marylanders and other Americans after the Civil War, providing insight into the American character and personality."

Geared towards high school and college students; skip over the advertising links.

Over 70 commentaries on the Divine Comedy.

Stanford's Dime Novel and Story Paper Collection consists of over 8,000 individual items, and includes long runs of the major dime novel series.

Brief definitions of terms used in poetry, often with examples.

Online medieval and medieval related texts, divided by category. J. Halsall, editor.

A selective listing of sites related to literary criticism. The audience is general, but the material is solid. No longer updated as of 2015.

A joint project of Brown University and the University of Tulsa to make "primary source material from 1890 to 1922 freely available for scholars and students of modernism."

"A scholarly resource and comprehensive critical and cultural history of modernist magazines in the period 1880-1945. So-called 'little magazines' were small, independent publishing ventures committed to new and experimental work."

The Old English Newsletter Database serves as an index to scholarly material in Anglo-Saxon studies. Free registration required.

A collection of poems and criticism, from the organization that publishes the magazine Poetry.

From the Academy of American Poets, this provides information about poets, prizes, events and more. Sign up for a Poem-a-Day email!

Scans of 400+ documents related to Shakespeare's life, with context. From the Folger Shakespeare Library

Concordances for a reasonably wide range of English-language authors, although strongest in the nineteenth century.

A guide to help students develop first and second year humanities writing skills. By Joseph M. Williams and Lawrence McEnerney, at the University of Chicago.

Links to digitized books, manuscripts, exhibits, photos and videos

Search the contents of a vast array of books. Those that are covered by copyright (generally published in the last 70 years) are usually not fully available online, but you can check to see if Drew owns them, or you can request the works through Interlibrary Loan.

A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.

The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.

Audio recordings of public domain books, read by volunteers. Quality varies. MP3, Itunes.

“The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization. [Ignore the ads.]

A collection of poems and criticism, from the organization that publishes the magazine Poetry.

Digitized/transcribed/proofread public domain (classic) e-texts; epub, kindle, html, & pdf formats.

Links to online books and text collections, curated by the University of Pennsylvania.

A list of open access book titles from scholarly book publishers that are available through JSTOR.