Skip to Main Content
Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Biographies and criticism of authors, playwrights, journalists, and scriptwriters published in English from 1900 to today.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains full text from reference works and literary journals including plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, author interviews, and classic texts.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Drama Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism sets. Collects critical writing about literary works/authors.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Author biographies, work overviews, literary criticism and bibliographies.
Middle English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive analysis of Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. (Free website.)
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
Oxford encyclopedia covering the 5th to the 15th century.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, 2004 This link opens in a new window
350 essays on American literary history from the 1600s to the present; essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, major works, literary movements, periods, and themes.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, 2006 This link opens in a new window
History of literature in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin)– individual authors and particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering children’s literature, international in scope.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Rhetoric This link opens in a new window
Classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications on the art of persuasion.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering the social, political and religious changes of the Reformation and the sixteenth century.
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library