LibGuides: DSEM: Sugar: Looking at our Favorite Molecule in Food, Culture and the Media: Databases

ScholarSearch

Databases

Best Bets
Further Searching

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®,
CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. (Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for a CAS SciFinder Account.)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Scopus finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

PubChem Project
PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. Integrated with Entrez, which is NCBI’s primary search engine, PubChem also provides compound substance data.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See ScienceDirect LibGuide for access information: http://libguides.drew.edu/SCIDIRECT
The Elsevier Science Direct journal and book collection covers physical and life sciences, as well as social sciences and other disciplines; indexes over 2,800 journals and 1900 books; full text available for over 1,000 journals. Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content, please send the article citation, or title and author, to email: reference@drew.edu, or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Using PubMed

How to Create an Account for PubMed
Creating a My NCBI account allows you to save searches and citations, select display formats, adjust filtering options, and much more in PubMed, as well as NCBI's other databases.
How Do I Search for a Topic in PubMed?
This page will review some simple search strategies for getting to the results you need quickly.
How Do I Filter My Search Results?
Learn how to narrow down your search results by using filters.
How Do I Go Beyond a Basic PubMed Search?
Learn how to perform advanced searches to get more accurate results. Advanced searches allow you to search for terms in a specific field or “All Fields,” combine searches and build complex search strings, view how each query was translated by PubMed, and compare the number of results for different queries.

Using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

What is MeSH?
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine’s controlled vocabulary thesaurus that gives uniformity and consistency to the indexing and cataloging of biomedical literature. It connects all the different ways to express a concept, such as “cancer." Explore the pages within this module to learn all about MeSH and how they can help you perform better searches.
How Can I Use MeSH to Narrow My Search Results?
Explore this module to learn how to use MeSH to manipulate your search results.
How do I Account for Changes to MeSH Over Time in Historical Searches?
Many MeSH terms haven’t been part of the vocabulary for the entire history of MEDLINE. In addition, as MeSH changes, records previously indexed are not re-indexed. This means that any time you see dates at the top of the MeSH Database record, the term can only retrieve records indexed during a specific time period. Visit this page to learn how to navigate this challenge.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®,
CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. (Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for a CAS SciFinder Account.)

SciFinder Registration
To use SciFinder, you will need to set up an account with a login and password. Please remember to use your Drew email address! Contact the Library if you encounter any problems.
SciFinder User Registration Instructions
View step-by-step instructions for registering for a SciFinder account through Drew University.

Manipulating Search Results

SciFinder: Working with Search Results
This page offers details about what every aspect of a search result means. It has labeled diagrams of search result screens, information on how to interpret results, and so much more!
SciFinder: Filtering Reaction Search Results
Learn about the details of each filter available when conducting a reaction search.
SciFinder: Filtering Reference Search Results
Learn about the details of each filter available when conducting a reference search.
SciFinder: Filtering Substance Search Results
Learn about the details of each filter available when conducting a substance search.
SciFinder: Filtering Supplier Search Results
Learn about the details of each filter available when conducting a supplier search.

Answering the question: How will I make this?

Working in the Lab and need to develop an experiment to create a known compound? How about synthesizing an unknown or "novel" compound? SciFinder-n can help with this and other questions related to crafting or adjusting the synthesis process. View the webinar below to get a good overview of this powerful tool. Time stamps are listed for ease of use.

How will I Make This? Retrosynthetic analysis for novel and known compounds with SciFinder-n. (32:00)

(2:17) Creating a Retrosynthesis plan for a known compound

(4:20) Finding evidence for Retrosynthesis plan (reference reactions)

(4:42)) Examining alternative steps

(15:45) Creating a retrosynthesis plan for a novel compound

(25:55) Accessing the experimental steps for retrosynthesis of a novel compound

(27:30) Using filters to locate reactions that address a variety of specific factors or parameters, e.g. solvents

(30:45) Obtaining experimental protocols, i.e. a print copy of the step-by-step reaction

Step-by-step instructions for creating a retrosynthesis plan.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Scopus finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.

BrowZine

Browzine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a service that allows you to browse, read and follow scholarly journals in a beautiful visual display.
With BrowZine, you can:
• Browse and read journals: Browse thousands of top journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.
• Stay Current with My Bookshelf: Create a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new article notifications.

Research Guides

DSEM: Sugar: Looking at our Favorite Molecule in Food, Culture and the Media

LibKey Nomad

ScholarSearch

Databases

Databases

Using PubMed

Using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

Manipulating Search Results

Answering the question: How will I make this?

BrowZine