It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Guide: Pan-African Studies: Find Articles
Your guide to Pan-African Studies resources at Drew
Cross-searchable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The HistoryMakers® Videos and full transcripts for interviews with 100 contemporary African Americans, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples. Contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
A comprehensive reference tool for religious and theological scholarship 1949 to the present, which also includes full text of the entire runs of a core collection of more than 50 English-language scholarly journals, as well as indexing thousands more books and journals.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it. Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
NEW FALL 2021 - New platform introduced summer 2021. Some features of the old platform are not yet available on the new platform . Use the "products" box on the new platform to access the old platform.
The New York Times Academic Pass provides each Drew student, faculty and staff member an online subscription to the nytimes.com site, including full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps for any device, as well as their international editions. See http://libguides.drew.edu/newyorktimes for more info
Each registered user has unlimited archival access to all years before 1923 and after 1980, and five articles per day for the years 1923-1980. Users can discover and share content on social networks, save articles, subscribe to email newsletters of areas of interest and receive news alerts, either on predefined topics or through a keyword search the user designates.
The share button allows you to post articles to a Moodle site.
If you are searching in Scholar Search, you will see both books and articles.
Some databases have full text incorporated in them; almost all of our databases, however, are connected to "Find it @Drew" which will check all our electronic journal sources to see if an article is available.
If the articles are directly connected into the database, it will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan.
For many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:
Finding full text at Drew
When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:
Finding full-text at Drew
If we don't have access to the journal/article online, Find it @Drew will give you links
to look for it online as free, open access via Google Scholar
to request it through our Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad)
NOTE: The first time you request an article or book via ILLiad (our InterLibraryLoan system), you will be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan; books can take longer.
If you already have information about a specific article (author, journal or magazine title, title of the article, etc.), use Drew's Journal List Search. Enter the title of the journal or magazine, and then drill down to the specific item you need.
Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a service by which Drew students, faculty and staff can submit requests to borrow materials not held by the Drew Libraries. Users can request journal articles, books and book chapters.
You can submit an interlibrary loan request directly from our databases, through Worldcat, or by going to the InterLibrary Loan system directly.
Before submitting a request, please check the Drew Library Catalog for books or Journal List to be sure that the material is not available here. Ask a librarian for help if you're not sure.
You may also submit an ILL request directly through Worldcat and many of our other electronic databases. Look for the link that says “Request an Interlibrary Loan” in the item record.
ILL can usually obtain items without a fee, but Overdue and Late Pickup fines are in effect.
Note: Books may take up to 2 weeks to arrive. Articles may arrive more quickly (sometimes the same day!) but please allow at least 5 business days for arrival. Average turnaround time for articles is 2.4 days; for books, 8 days)