Skip to main content

Library Guides

Drew it Better: PubMed, Medline and more: Overview

A guide with details about these resources and how they are used and can be useful to researchers

Introduction

Looking for information related to for Biology? Neuroscience? Medical Humanities? PubMed and it's related resources may be helpful to you. Browse this guide for helpful tips.

Overview

Resource Description How/where it's used
Medline NLM journal citation database Searchable through ISI, EBSCO, or PubMed. Set apart from rest of PubMed content because it is indexed and searchable using MeSH
PubMed Index that contains Medline indexed journals PLUS books from NLM bookshelves, content that is in process, out of coverage or pre-1966 in relation to Medline, and content deposited in PMC

Searchable through NLM’s NCBI interface.

If PubMed search is limited to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.
PubMed Central (PMC) free archive for full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles. Searchable through NLM’s NCBI interface. Links to PMC content provided through PubMed when available.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)

Comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature. Related subjects of consumer health, alternate/complementary medicine, biomedicine, andhealth sciences librarianship are indexed selectively.Cited reference searching from 1994 to the present. Approx 1200 journal titles included.

Searchable through EBSCO platform

 

Get Help

chat loading...

Phone 973-408-3588; email reference@drew.edu

Reference Librarian, science specialty

Margery Ashmun's picture
Margery Ashmun
Contact:
Drew University Library
36 Madison Avenue
Madison, NJ 07940
973-408-3483

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library