LibGuides: Subject Guide: Religion and Theology: Background

Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online-Biblical Studies
A literary guide to the most important and significant sources in Biblical Studies. Features a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult, with a unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. ( click “Biblical Studies” box )

Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: Reference BS440 .I63

Publication Date: 1962
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: Reference BS440 .N445 2006

Publication Date: 2006-2009
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by Kittel
Call Number: Reference BS2312 .K5813 1964

Publication Date: 1964-1976
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by Botterweck
Call Number: Reference BS440 .B5713

Publication Date: 1974-

Encyclopedia of Religion
Major reference work in religion and related subjects.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
"Explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. "
Encyclopedia Judaica
Encyclopedia covering “Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.”
Also in print at Reference DS102.8 .E496
Encyclopedia of Ancient History
"... comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world."

Encyclopedia of Christianity
Call Number: Reference BR.E8913 1999

"Based on the third, revised edition of the critically acclaimed German work Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon, this comprehensive and up-to-date encyclopedia includes all 5 volumes of the print edition of 1999-2008. "
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology by Jean-Yves Lacoste (ed.)
Call Number: Reference BR 95.D5313 2005

"The classic Dictionnaire Critique de Thèologie (Nouvelle Edition), is now accessible to a wide English-speaking readership in need of an authoritative, incisive, and up-to-date ecumenical reference to this enduring field of study. This monumental set covers over 500 events, doctrines, individuals, theories, and schools of thought that comprise the study of the Christian religion across all of its denominations."
Encyclopedia of World Methodism, vol 2
Encyclopedia of World Methodism vol. 1
New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd ed.
Call Number: Reference BX841 .N44

A major reference work with an emphasis on the Roman Catholic tradition

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
"...coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics."
Also at Reference BR95 .O8
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
"...coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics."
Also at Reference BR95 .O8