LibGuides: HUM 204: Introduction to Digital Humanities: Find Resources

Art History Resources

Best Bets
Further Searching

AATA Online: Abstracts of Conservation Literature
A specialized database focusing on Archaeology, art, material culture, technology and artifacts, and conservation. (Free website; Requires free registration.)
Choose the Search tab and select Quick search to find items by keyword.
International Bibliography of Art
Continues the Bibliography of the History of Art, 2009 to current.Covers western art from late antiquity (4th c. AD) to present. Indexes books, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs and articles
ARTBibliographies Modern
Abstracts of a wide variety of sources on modern and contemporary art (19th onwards).

Related Guides:

Subject Guide: Art History
by Danielle Reay Last Updated Feb 14, 2025 61 views this year

JSTOR
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Arts & Humanities Full Text
Full text resources covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
LISTA (Library and Information Science Technical Abstracts)
For library and information science topics

Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields. Content Includes:
Full text for more than 440 journals,cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 670 journals and selected coverage of nearly 180 journals
Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Coverage: 1909 - current

Related Guides:

Subject Guide: Media and Communications
by Kathleen Juliano Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 11 views this year

Sage Research Methods
A platform designed to support the teaching and learning of research methodology at all levels, step by step, plus hundreds of qualitative and quantitative methods, including interactive tools such as the Methods Map and Project Planner. Includes Cases, Datasets and videos.
JSTOR
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.

Sports History Resources

Best Bets
Further Searching

America History and Life
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Europeana
Europeana provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with digital access to European cultural heritage material..
We give you access to millions of cultural heritage items from institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more.
Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

Related Guides:

Subject Guide: American Studies
by Reference Department at Drew University Library Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 4 views this year
Subject Guide: Film Studies
by Kathleen Juliano Last Updated Mar 17, 2025 11 views this year

Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers, from Library of Congress
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. Learn more
MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
JSTOR
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.

Linguistics Resources

Best Bets
Further Searching

Linguistics Collection
This collection combines Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), the leading index for linguistics, with full-text for many titles. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Coverage: 1973 - current
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields. Content Includes:
Full text for more than 440 journals,cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 670 journals and selected coverage of nearly 180 journals
MLA Bibliography
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Related Guides:

Subject Guide: Sociology
by Reference Department at Drew University Library Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 14 views this year
Subject Guide: English & Literature
by Amanda Graves Last Updated Apr 7, 2025 72 views this year
Subject Guide: Media and Communications
by Kathleen Juliano Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 11 views this year
Subject Guide: Anthropology
by Reference Department at Drew University Library Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 10 views this year

Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Coverage: 1909 - current

History of Technology Resources

Best Bets
Further Searching

Proquest Computing
Computing related resources– 450+ titles indexed, 350+ in full text. Subject areas include Computer Science, Information Systems, Computer Security, Database Design, Software Development, Web Commerce: LANs, WANs, Intranets & Internet.
Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

Related Guides:

Subject Guide: Computer Science
by Guy Dobson Last Updated Apr 1, 2025 5 views this year

JSTOR
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Scopus
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Scopus finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

Environmental Humanities Resources

Best Bets
Further Searching

GreenFILE
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. For peer reviewed materials, check the box for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" found under Search Options -- Limit your results. (Through NJ State Libraries )
Environmental Debate: A Documentary History
A collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present. (~from the publisher)
Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Coverage: 1909 - current

Related Guides:

Subject Guide: Environmental Studies
by Reference Department at Drew University Library Last Updated Mar 31, 2025 49 views this year
Subject Guide: Sociology
by Reference Department at Drew University Library Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 14 views this year
Subject Guide: Anthropology
by Reference Department at Drew University Library Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 10 views this year

SocINDEX
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Scopus
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Scopus finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

Comic Books as WWII Propaganda Resources

Best Bets
Further Searching

SAGE online journals
Online journal source.
Project Muse Journals
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Choose "Only content I have access to" and journals for content.
JSTOR
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.

Relevant Collections:

Drew University Center for Holocaust/Genocide Study Collections
The material found within these collections ranges from academic publications on the Holocaust to survivor testimony to Nazi material culture (including uniforms and ephemera).
Harry A. Chesler Collection of Cartoon Art and Graphic Satire
The collection includes over 2600 books on English and continental European graphic satire, with works in English, Russian and most European languages. The Chesler Collection is an interdisciplinary resource for the study of the graphic arts, as well as social and cultural history, and is particularly strong in 19th and 20th century studies and compendia.
Comic Book Collections
Gifted by many donors, this collection is comprised of an eclectic selection of Marvel and DC Comics, as well as other smaller publishers. The bulk of the collection is focused around the late 1970s through the early 2000s.

Related Guides:

Subject Guide: History
by Matthew Beland Last Updated Apr 7, 2025 205 views this year
Subject Guide: Art History
by Danielle Reay Last Updated Feb 14, 2025 61 views this year

Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
Arts & Humanities Full Text
Full text resources covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Religious Studies Resources

Best Bets
Further Searching

ATLA Religion Database
A comprehensive reference tool for religious and theological scholarship 1949 to the present, which also includes full text of the entire runs of a core collection of more than 50 English-language scholarly journals, as well as indexing thousands more books and journals.
ARDA: Association of Religion Data Archives
Datasets on religious affiliation, congregations, surveys, as well as charts of denominational/religious group development.
Bloomsbury Religion in North America
Covering North America’s diverse religious traditions, this resource provides reliable and peer-reviewed information for students and instructors of religious studies, anthropology of religion, sociology of religion, and history.

Related Guides:

Subject Guide: Religion & Theology
by Jesse Mann Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 361 views this year

SAGE online journals
Online journal source.
JSTOR
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Journals
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Choose "Only content I have access to" and journals for content.

Journalism & Women's Studies

Best Bets
Further Searching

Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities
Women's Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. It covers the nineteenth and twentieth centuries,and contains a variety of archival collections.

Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.

Within the archive can be found historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields. Content Includes:
Full text for more than 440 journals,cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 670 journals and selected coverage of nearly 180 journals
Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Coverage: 1909 - current
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 - Part I
A collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
Part I presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond.

Routledge Historical Resources: History of Feminism
This resource covers feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as new thematic essays, and subject introductions on its structural themes:
Reveal Digital
The thematic collections from Reveal Digital are sourced from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies, and individual collectors. Reveal Digital curates the content in collaboration with an editorial board of library leaders and provides a crowd-publishing model in which libraries pool funds to develop the collections. The results are open access primary source collections of great value to scholars and researchers.

Research Guides

HUM 204: Introduction to Digital Humanities

LibKey Nomad

Art History Resources

Related Guides:

Journalism Resources

Related Guides:

Sports History Resources

Related Guides:

Linguistics Resources

Related Guides:

History of Technology Resources

Related Guides:

Environmental Humanities Resources

Related Guides:

Comic Books as WWII Propaganda Resources

Relevant Collections:

Related Guides:

Religious Studies Resources

Related Guides:

Journalism & Women's Studies