The first comprehensive analysis of work and the workforce in the United States, from the Industrial Revolution to the era of globalization. This comprehensive two-volume reference book is the first to analyze the central role of work and the workforce in U.S. life from the Industrial Revolution through today's information economy. Drawing on a variety of disciplines--economics, public policy, law, human and civil rights, cultural studies, and organizational psychology--its 256 entries examine key events, concepts, institutions, and individuals in labor history. Entries also tackle tough contemporary questions that reflect the conflicts inherent in capitalism. What is the impact of work on families and communities? On minority and immigrant populations? How shall we respond to changing work roles and the growing influence of the transnational corporation? Work in America describes and evaluates attempts to address social and class issues--affirmative action, occupational health and safety, corporate management science, and trade unionism and organized labor--and offers the kind of comprehensive understanding needed to discover workable solutions. 256 A-Z entries on topics ranging from Amazon.com to income gaps and wages An impressive array of expert contributors representing labor history, labor economics, labor law, welfare and social policy, human resource management, women's history, media studies, political science, workforce development, and employment policy Extensive historiography of U.S. labor and industrial relations End-of-entry bibliographies of references for further research

It is difficult to understand history or the conditions of modern society without a strong grasp of the economic past. Time and again, historic change is wrought by an underlying economic dynamic. Because of the interdisciplinary complexity of the field, the encyclopedia is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the history of technology. Smaller categories include financial and corporate history, the history of migration, and transportation history.Each article is followed by a bibliography, and each article is signed with its contributor's name. This title is available both in print and as an e-reference text from Oxford's Digital Reference Shelf. A directory of contributors, a synoptic outline of contents, and an index are included. The editorial board and contributors include scholars from Europe, Latin America, Africa, and Asia; it is intended that the project's scope be truly international. There exists no comparable work.

Workers in America: A Historical Encyclopedia, features updated entries, recent court cases, a chronology of key events, an enriched index, and an extensive bibliography for additional research. This expansive encyclopedia examines the complete panorama of America's work history, including the historical account of work and workers, the social inequities between the rich and poor, violence in the Labor Movement, and issues of globalization and industrial economics. Organized in two volumes and arranged in A-Z order, the 350 entries span key events, collective actions, pivotal figures, landmark legislation, and important concepts in the world of labor and work.

The Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor looks at the history of organized labor to see where it came from and where it has been. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, a glossary of terms, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on most countries, international as well as national labor organizations, major labor unions, leaders, and other aspects of organized labor such as changes in the composition of its membership. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about organized labor.