Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Options for Citation Tools
Simple bibliography formatter:
Citation Management Software
Scroll down to see information about all of these options.
Citation Tools -- managing your resources and much more
There are a number of different programs that will help you collect, manage and format the citation information for your research resources. The following are free ones the library is currently supporting:
Endnote Online / Endnote Web
Free online version of classic citation manager software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project, sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.
You'll need to sign up for EndnoteWeb and install the Cite-While-You-Write tool.
Instructions for Drew users: http://www.drew.edu/library/research/endnote-basic
Endnote Online A web-based citation management tool available through the web via the Drew Library subscription to Web of Science and Knowledge.
Endnote Online allows you to collect, track and manage the citations for articles you are using for papers or research, and to output those citations in any one of many different citation styles. While you should still plan to double-check your citations, Endnote Online/ MyEndnoteWeb uses the same high-quality citation formatting techniques as EndNote.
Use this link to access Endnote Online from off campus if you want to see the "Find it @Drew" link for your citations.
Zotero is a free citation management program with an online storage component. It can be downloaded from zotero.org
You'll want to sign up for a zotero.org account to save your references, and install the helper apps for your browser and Word.
Notes for Drew users: https://uknow.drew.edu/confluence/x/Z46RAw
ZoteroBib - formatting citations
ZoteroBib is a free tool that lets you format bibliography citations automatically-- look up articles and books by title, DOI, or ISBN and websites by URL, and you can then export your citations in one of nearly 10,000 formats
To use ZoteroBib:
- Go to https://zbib.org/
- In the search box, enter:
- For journal articles, either the article title or the DOI . (URLS for articles in Drew's subscriptions generally don't work-- use the DOI instead.)
- For books, either the title or the ISBN
- For websites and blogs, enter the URL.
- Click on the blue Cite button
- If ZoteroBib finds more than one version of the title it will show you a list and ask you to choose.
- Once you have the right item, you may need to edit it manually (especially for Websites and blog posts)-- click on the blue Edit button.
- The citation will appear, in the default format, in the Bibliography list below.
- Click the blue stripe with the name of the citation style to choose a different style.
- If your style isn't there, click on other styles in the menu and search for it-- once you find it, click ADD and it will be one of the choices.
- Continue until you've entered all your citations. (If you need to edit a citation you entered previously, click on it in the Bibliography list. You can also enter citations manually using the Manual Entry button for things like reports and book chapters that don't come in your search.)
- When you're ready to move your bibliography into a document, scroll down to the Export section of the page and select Copy to Clipboard .
- Paste your bibliography into the document where you plan to use it!
NOTE: Zotero saves your bibliography in the browser on the computer you are using, so make sure you remove old citations before starting a new bibliography-- use the Delete All button. But, if you made a set of citations on one computer and want to access it on another, use the "Link to this Version" in the first computer, and email yourself the link.
Reference Librarian, science specialty
Questions? Need Help? Email email@example.com
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library