Skip to Main Content
Indexes and Databases
Choose your relevant database based on the subject focus:
MLA Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
FIAF This link opens in a new window
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history. Use this database for material on the history of Latino/as in the U.S.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples. Contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
To find articles for which you already have the citation (as when you're selecting items from a bibliography), use these indexes, which search any available full text:
ScholarSearch This link opens in a new window
Searches all of Drew's material that is available electronically.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library