Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

ESS/ENGH 309: Food Justice and U.S. Literature: Find Articles

Article Databases and Indexes

In interdisciplinary fields, you often need to check more than one index.  To do that more efficiently, if the databases you want to search are all from one publisher or vendor, you can combine your search by selecting multiple databases at once.  Go to Academic Search Premier, an EBSCO database.  On the first search page, click on "Choose Databases" and then add the other relevant EBSCO databases:

Some recommended databases:

  • Academic Search Premier - a large general database
  • CINAHL - good for nutrition and social programs
  • Greenfile - environmental literature
  • MLA - literary criticism
  • SocINDEX - covers sociological literature

Searching Tips

Break your topic into its component subtopics:

Creating culturally sensitive nutritional education programs:
       - "cultural sensiti*"
       -  nutrition*
      -  program*

Racial factors in food deserts
      -  race
      -  "food deserts"

Brainstorm alternative terms for the subtopics:
     -  
race
             -  racis*
             -  ethnic*
      -  nutrition*
             -  food

Enter your search terms, giving a separate box for each separate subtopic:

Use the left-hand columns to focus your search by date, document type, or subject:

 

 

Get to Full Text

ScholarSearch - finding full-text

If you are searching in Scholar Search, you will see both books and articles.

Some databases have full text incorporated in them; almost all of our databases, however, are connected to "Find it @Drew" which will check all our electronic journal sources to see if an article is available.
If the articles are directly connected into the database, it will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan.

For many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:

Finding full text at Drew

When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:

Finding full-text at Drew

If we don't have access to the journal/article online, Find it @Drew will give you links

  • to look for it online as free, open access via Google Scholar
  • to request it through our Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad)

NOTE: The first time you request an article or book via ILLiad (our InterLibraryLoan system), you  will  be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan;  books can take longer.

If you already have information about a specific article (author, journal or magazine title, title of the article, etc.), use Drew's Journal List Search.  Enter the title of the journal or magazine, and then drill down to the specific item you need.

Get Help

chat loading...

Phone 973-408-3588; email reference@drew.edu

Reference Librarian

Profile Photo
Reference Department at Drew University Library
Contact:
Drew Library
36 Madison Ave
Madision, NJ 07940
973-408-3588
Website

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library