Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

ATLA and OT & NT ABSTRACTS TIPSHEET: Home

Links

ATLA, OT and NT ABSTRACTS

ATLA

The ATLA Religion Database is an essential tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. The fact that many publishers solicit the inclusion of their journals in ATLA RDB is indicative of the stature it has achieved in the community of religion scholars. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Journals representing all the major religious faiths, Major denominations, and numerous language groups are included. ATLA's indexing of multi-author works, such as Festschriften and conference proceedings, is unique among religion databases. Unlike indexes that catalog books of essays as a single entry, ATLA indexes each individual essay in such works. Coverage: from 1949 

OLD TESTAMENT ABSTRACTS

A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies. Old Testament Abstracts Online covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology and philology, making it essential for religious or biblical research. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work.

NEW TESTAMENT ABSTRACTS

A product of a partnership between the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and Boston College, this database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. Each year, an additional 2,000 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion in New Testament Abstracts Online. In addition, approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually.

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library