Skip to Main Content
Generally, most search tools or indexes have a specific subject focus. (The exceptions are the general search tools like Google Scholar or ScholarSearch.) Pick your tool according to the area that it covers. Some possibilities include:
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles and essays on anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples. Contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
MLA Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
General tools, which span disciplines, may be helpful as well:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
ScholarSearch This link opens in a new window
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library