LibGuides: Subject Guide: Political Science: Background

Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.

Political Glossaries: A Glossary of US Politics and Government
- This link opens in a new window
"This Glossary explains the key concepts, institutions, personalities, and events commonly referred to in the teaching of US politics and government."

Dictionary of American Government and Politics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This Dictionary offers a look at US government and politics, explaining the key terms used in discussion of the political system. Major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system are included with the aim of allowing readers to develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of the area. Terms are presented in an A-Z format with cross-referencing where appropriate. ~from the publisher

CIA World Factbook
Annually updated, maps, statistics, comparisons, and "information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for .. world entities."

Encyclopedia of Political Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and that highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines."
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States; organized around seven time periods that correspond to key eras in American history.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of statistics related to social, political and economic conditions in the United States. Published annually by the government since 1878; as of 2013 published by Proquest. Updated monthly.

Data.gov This link opens in a new window
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
FDsys This link opens in a new window
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
Portal to U.S Government Information Online