LibGuides: Subject Guide: Anthropology: Background

Reference Sources

For quick definitions, background, or lists of recommended sources, check:

Biographical Dictionary of Anthroplogists
Publication Date: 2013
Over 300 sketches of anthropologists, with selected additional reading.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Call Number: Reference GN11.E63 2006
Publication Date: 2006
A five-volume set from Sage, with substantive overviews and brief selective bibliographies.
History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Reference GN 50.3 .H57 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Lengthy articles on topics, places and people.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Call Number: Reference GN307 .E525 2010
ISBN: 041509996X
Publication Date: 2010
Articles on theories and their histories, practices and issues, with fairly lengthy lists of recommended further reading
21st Century Anthropology: a Reference Handbook
ISBN: 1412957389
Publication Date: 2010
Sound overviews of broad topics, providing a good introduction to areas of anthropology.

Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology
ISBN: 0759120706
Publication Date: 2015
Chapters on methods, ethics, research design and feminist concerns
A Handbook of Practicing Anthropology
ISBN: 0470674598
Publication Date: 2013
Summarizes approaches and ethics within anthropological research.
Specialized Ethnographic Methods: A Mixed Methods Approach
Call Number: Reference GN345 .S628 2013
Publication Date: 2013

Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major reference work in religion and related subjects.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering "Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America."

Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture
Publication Date: 2003
Provides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective.
Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East : An Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2011
Histories and current conditions of peoples in the area, with selective bibliographies.
Multicultural America : an encyclopedia of the newest Americans
Publication Date: 2011
Information on the history, immigration patterns, and status within the U.S.

Email Me

Contact:

Drew Library
36 Madison Ave
Madison, NJ 07940

973-408-3588