LibGuides: DSEM: Personal Identity and Immortality: Reference Works

Online Reference Works

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
The Oxford Companion to Consciousness
The Oxford Companion to Consciousness is the most complete authoritative survey of contemporary research on consciousness. Structured as an easy-to-use dictionary and extensively cross-referenced, the Companion offers contributions from philosophy of mind to neuroscience, from experimental psychology to clinical findings, so reflecting the profoundly interdisciplinary nature of the domain.

A Dictionary of Psychology, 4th ed.
This authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms, landmark case studies and experiments, primary source materials, applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports, and career information.

Encyclopedia of Religion, 15 vols., 2nd ed.
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.

A Companion to the Philosophy of Mind by Samuel D. Guttenplan (Editor)
Call Number: REF BD418.3 .C62 1994
ISBN: 0631179534
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
The philosophy of mind is one of the fastest-growing areas in philosophy, not least because of its connections with related areas of psychology, linguistics and computation. This Companion is an alphabetically arranged reference guide to the subject, firmly rooted in the philosophy of mind, but with a number of entries that survey adjacent fields of interest.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 10 vols. by Donald M. Borchert (Editor)
Call Number: REF B51 .E53 2006
ISBN: 9780028657806
Publication Date: 2005
Since 1967, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, described by Booklist as the best and most comprehensive English-language reference source for philosophy, has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. L
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Neuroscience by John Bickle (Editor)
Call Number: REF QP356 .O94 2009
ISBN: 9780195304787
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Neuroscience is a state-of-the-art collection of interdisciplinary research spanning philosophy (of science, mind, and ethics) and current neuroscience. Containing chapters written by some of the most prominent philosophers working in this area, and in some cases co-authored with neuroscientists, this volume reflects both the breadth and depth of current work in this exciting field.

Encyclopedia of Psychology, 8 vols. by Alan E. Kazdin, ed.
Call Number: REF BF31 .E52 2000
ISBN: 1557986509
Publication Date: 2000
"The American Psychological Association, under the editorial direction of Alan Kazdin, has produced an exceptional multidisciplinary and multicultural encyclopedia."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001.
Handbook of Psychology, 12 vols. by Irving B. Weiner (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF121 .H213 2013
ISBN: 9780470619049
Publication Date: 2012
Psychology is of interest to academics from many fields, as well as to the thousands of academic and clinical psychologists and general public who can't help but be interested in learning more about why humans think and behave as they do. This award-winning twelve-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-fascinating discipline of psychology and represents the most current knowledge in the field, discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion, 2 vols. by J. Wentzel Vrede van Huyssteen, editor in chief.
Call Number: REF BL240.3 .E43 2003
ISBN: 0028657047
Publication Date: 2003
The Encyclopedia of Science and Religion addresses the interactions, contradictions and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The two-volume set examines technologies like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and continuing developments in neurophysiology against the backdrop of deeply-held religious beliefs. and religion.