LibGuides: DSEM: 4/5 Students Recommend this Seminar: Evaluating Survey Research: Databases

Search Tips

The survey topic you have all agreed upon, "the Importance of physical activity to you/athletics/student retention and academic performance/eating/exercise habits", can be broken down into several keywords and terms. Searching different databases (such as those suggested in the box below), using different combinations of these terms, will bring back related articles for you to consider.
- physical activity
- athletics
- student retention
- academic performance
- eating
- exercise habits
You might also want to add further terms to your search, such as "survey*" or "questionnaire*", which will narrow your results to articles containing some variation of the words "survey" and "questionnaire". (The * tells the database to search for variations of the indicated word. So, "survey*" will include survey, surveys, surveyed, and so on.)
If some variation of "Scholarly Journals" or "Peer Reviewed" appears as a filter option, consider applying it to your search. Doing so will limit the results you see to articles that were published only after being, in some way, vetted by scholars in the appropriate discipline.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selective index of journal articles in Education and reports in Education from 1966 to the present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines

A to Z of Social Research, 2003 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Analysis of consumers, markets, new products and competitive landscapes. Includes data market research, market analysis, competitive intelligence, product intelligence and expert synthesis .
To register, On the Mintel homepage, click on the drop-down arrow in the top right-hand corner where it says
Welcome
-Select My Portal
-Enter Drew email address and hit Next
-Retrieve email and create password.

LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that gives you fast, one-click access to scholarly articles. This extension connects your web browser to all of the content available to you through the Drew University Library. If you find an article while searching outside the Library's website, LibKey Nomad will communicate seamlessly with the Library and either give you full-text access to the article (if the Drew Library has it available) or bring you to a pre-filled InterLibrary Loan form that will request access to the article for you.