Skip to Main Content
Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies
By Ken McCoy, Ph.D. Provides comprehensive links to World Wide Web resources, listservs, newsgroups, journals, and indexes.
CESAR – Calendrier Electronique des Spectacles sous l’Ancien Régime
Links to theatrical entertainment in France during the 17th and 18th centuries.
“The free online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956,” by Julian Oddy. Searchable by title, playwright, and number of male and female characters.
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
“The official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.”
Valuable resource for tracking down print copies of a particular play “hidden” in sources often not searchable in catalogs. “Contains . . . citations to plays, many of which are not included in the standard printed play indexes.”
Jack Woolcott’s Theatre History on the Web
Well-organized directory of international theater research sites. Links are available for Area Studies (Classical, Elizabethan, 20th Century), Cultural Sites (Theatre Resources, Organizations), and Centers, Museums, and Libraries.
Media History Digital Library
Digitized older subsets of classic media periodicals that are in the public domain. Use the "Lantern" option to search by keyword.
Modernist Journals Project
A joint project of Brown University and the University of Tulsa to make "primary source material from 1890 to 1922 freely available for scholars and students of modernism."
Modernist Magazines Project
"A scholarly resource and comprehensive critical and cultural history of modernist magazines in the period 1880-1945. So-called 'little magazines' were small, independent publishing ventures committed to new and experimental work."
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design
The Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design is a valuable source of documentation on the history of theatre, housed in the UIUC Rare Book and Special Collections Library. It is a rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.
“The Playwriting Seminars” -there is no longer a website by Richard Toscan at Virginia Commwealth,. but this facebook page is informative and references his book: "Playwriting Seminars 2.0: A Handbook on the Art and Craft of Dramatic Writing with an Introduction to Screenwriting"
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library