Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

ScienceDirect (SD)-- How to access ScienceDirect articles: For Drew University Students:

How to get full -text of Science Direct content

Strategies for students to access Science Direct full-text

Students may access pay-per-download articles from ScienceDirect journals outside of Drew University's Core Subscription package  by submitting a request through the Drew Library Chat feature (link: http://www.drew.edu/library/ask-a-librarianduring select hours,  Mon-Fri; 9-5PM , semesters only,  or by using the Interlibrary Loan system. See instructions for both below.

Depending on when the request is submitted, the Librarian answering the Library Chat may be able to supply the ScienceDirect article within 30 minutes to 1 hour, while Interlibrary Loan may supply the desired article(s) sometime between 12 - 72 hours.  

*** NOTE: Students do NOT need to register in order to access or download articles.  They MAY register with Science Direct to keep track of Saved Citations, etc. 

ScienceDirect: Getting full-text: Student strategies

Step-by-step guide to obtain pay-per-download (ppd) articles

To obtain the desired article through Library Chat (semesters only) during the hours Mon-Fri; 9-5PM and Mon-Thurs; 7-9PM.

  • First, look for the article by title in GoogleScholar. If you were unable to obtain full-text there, submit your request through the LibraryChat box if available. 
  • Use the CHAT box found on the Scholar Search Results page to ask for an article – supply the Librarian with citation information by copy and pasting the relevant information into the chat box. . Once request has been received through Library Chat, student may receive the article via email in approx. 2 hours.

Getting to full-text...

  • If you are searching in Science Direct, provide the Librarian with the article citation as shown.

Getting to full-text (2)...

  • Highlight and copy citation information

Getting to full-text (3)...

  • CHAT can be found in many places....Moodle, Library databases, and at the "Ask a Librarian" link on Drew Library's webpage. Once there, enter the article information and provide your email for quick and easy access to the article. 

Getting to full-text (4)...

  • If Library Chat is online, greet and let the librarian know you are interested in obtaining a ScienceDirect article. 
  • Then copy and paste citation into Library chat box. Please include your email address and name. 

Getting to full-text (5)...

To obtain the desired Pay-Per-Download article through InterLibrary Loan:

  • From ScholarSearch, click “Use ILL to obtain article" (when chat is unavailable). See screenshot below.
  • Sign into your ILLiad  account and the article information will automatically fill in the appropriate spots in the form.
  •  Type '0' in the spot marked “Max you are willing to pay”
  •  Choose Yes or No in the field: "Have you checked the Drew Catalog or 'Find Journals' list to see if we own this item? " 
  • Click “Submit request”.
  • From the ScienceDirect database, copy and paste title of the article of interest into ScholarSearch. Select the article you are seeking from the results and request through CHAT or through the InterLibrary Loan Link provided. 
  • You should receive the article in 12 - 72 hours after submitting your request.

    Please contact the Research Help Desk at the Library (973- 408-3588) or email reference@drew.edu if you have additional questions or concerns.

Get Help

chat loading...

Phone 973-408-3588; email reference@drew.edu

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library