LibGuides: Subject Guide: Public Health: Web Resources

Websites

World Health Organization (WHO)
Searchable information related to global health concerns and topics. Global statistical data and analysis available by health related topic. From the United Nations.
Pandemic and Epidemic Disease (Global Alert and Response) from W.H.O.
Information about prevention and worldwide outbreak locations of approx. 15 epidemic diseases or disease types provided by World Health Organization (WHO). Links to other WHO pages provides additional information about disease. From the United Nations' World Health Organization.
Public Health Commons
Public Health Commons is part of the Digital Commons Network. Here you'll find a collection of publicly accessible scholarly and creative work from libraries across academia.
more...less...
"The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work"~from the website.

Disability.gov
Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations.
States Perform
“States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.

Kaiser Family Foundation
Detailed information about “major U.S. health issues”, including current health data for all 50 states, U.S. health policy news and information, and analysis of Affordable Care Act (ACA), i.e. “Obamacare”. Resource for studying U.S. healthcare policy. A privately funded, nonprofit group,
Public Health : Health Care Reform
Health Care Reform legislation, blogs and news, from a librarian at Temple University.
RWJF DataHub, from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Excellent U.S. national and state health statistical information searchable by broad categories like “public health”, “health care costs” and more. From a large U.S. private foundation.

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) -- MMWR: The First 30 Years
Historical information (1952-1982) from the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR), a compilation of state health department reports. Resource for researching and analyzing U.S. disease trends. From the CDC, a federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services.
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics Digitized historical documents from the collections of Harvard University on diseases and epidemics.
Influenza Encyclopedia
Digital collection of historical newspapers, public health reports and bulletins, and other materials relating to the 1918-1919 influenza epidemic, including analyses of the civic response and the political and economic ramifications on a U.S. city-by-city basis. From the University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine and Publishing.

RWJF DataHub, from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Excellent U.S. national and state health statistical information searchable by broad categories like “public health”, “health care costs” and more. From a large U.S. private foundation.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
Learn to design posters and power point presentations as well as how to write proposals, lab reports, dissertations, journal articles. ~From PennState University
Writing in College – A Short Guide to College Writing
A guide to help students develop first and second year humanities writing skills. By Joseph M. Williams and Lawrence McEnerney, at the University of Chicago.