Education Research database searches education-related publications. Full text of many journals as well as some books and conference papers.
Note: subject headings are not education specific though. Try ERIC for that.
Selective index of journal articles in Education and reports in Education from 1966 to the present.
Better subject terms and limiters than Education Resource Complete, but includes reports and journal/magazine articles that may not be available.
Aimed at educators, librarians and education researchers. Covers 280 peer-reviewed, abstracted and indexed journals. (From the NJ State Libraries)
General Search Engines
ScholarSearchThis link opens in a new windowDiscovery Service from EBSCO. Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search.
Watch these helpful videos to learn how to navigate ScholarSearch
Introduction to ScholarSearch
Advanced searching using ScholarSearch
Emailing and Citing your results with ScholarSearch
Finding Full text in ScholarSearch
This link opens in a new window
ProQuest CentralThis link opens in a new windowA large general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications covering a broad range of subjects. Many full text articles available.
This link opens in a new window
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowThis free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
Getting to Full-text - "how to"
ScholarSearch - finding full-text
If you are searching in Scholar Search, you will see both books and articles.
Some databases have full text incorporated in them; almost all of our databases, however, are connected to "Find it @Drew" which will check all our electronic journal sources to see if an article is available.
If the articles are directly connected into the database, it will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan.
For many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:
Finding full text at Drew
When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:
Finding full-text at Drew
If we don't have access to the journal/article online, Find it @Drew will give you links
to look for it online as free, open access via Google Scholar
to request it through our Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad)
NOTE: The first time you request an article or book via ILLiad (our InterLibraryLoan system), you will be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan; books can take longer.
If you already have information about a specific article (author, journal or magazine title, title of the article, etc.), use Drew's Journal List Search. Enter the title of the journal or magazine, and then drill down to the specific item you need.
Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a service by which Drew students, faculty and staff can submit requests to borrow materials not held by the Drew Libraries. Users can request journal articles, books and book chapters.
You can submit an interlibrary loan request directly from our databases, through Worldcat, or by going to the InterLibrary Loan system directly.
Before submitting a request, please check the Drew Library Catalog for books or Journal List to be sure that the material is not available here. Ask a librarian for help if you're not sure.
You may also submit an ILL request directly through Worldcat and many of our other electronic databases. Look for the link that says “Request an Interlibrary Loan” in the item record.
ILL can usually obtain items without a fee, but Overdue and Late Pickup fines are in effect.
Note: Books may take up to 2 weeks to arrive. Articles may arrive more quickly (sometimes the same day!) but please allow at least 5 business days for arrival. Average turnaround time for articles is 2.4 days; for books, 8 days)
Interlibrary Loan RequestUse to place interlibrary loan (ILL) requests, check on request status, and download electronic copies of ILL items.