A comprehensive analysis of Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. (Free website.)

Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.

Reference book covering the historical period known as the Enlightenment, from 1690 through 1815.

Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States; organized around seven time periods that correspond to key eras in American history.

African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.

1690-1876, including Early American Newspapers Series 1. includes more than 730 American newspapers.
Offers essential titles from 23 states and the District of Columbia Search full text & view scanned pages. tags: HistoryQL

Contains the full text of selected articles from Northern and Southern American newspapers, Nov. 1860-April 1865.

Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.

Text and images from one of the major and longest-running newspapers of 18th century America. Covers 1728-1800, with additional excerpts from The Pennsylvania Packet after 1766. ( Choose Pennsylvania Gazette from the menu when connected. )

230+ sources from pre-Victorian women.

Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)

Portal to U.S Government Information Online