LibGuides: Subject Guide: Biology: Background

Resources

Collins Dictionary of Biology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all the major fields within the science, including anatomy, biochemistry, ecology, evolutionary theory, genetics, molecular biology, physiology and taxonomy
Dictionary of Microbiology & Molecular Biology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The revised 3rd edition covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window Birds of the World (Formerly Birds of North America Online) brings together scholarly content from four works of ornithology—Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World into one hub where you can find comprehensive, authoritative information on birds. With the integration of millions of bird observations from eBird and images from the Macaulay Library, Birds of the World is the most powerful ornithological resource ever created.
- This link opens in a new window
eLS This link opens in a new window Formerly Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, "eLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences and is an essential resource for students."
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Evolution This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia covering evolutionary biology, including behavioral ecology and developmental biology.
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Global Change This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia covering types of phenomena that change life on Earth. “General research categories: altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies.”
- This link opens in a new window

Encyclopedia of Life Open access, curated, collaborative encyclopedia attempting to assemble information about all identified organisms on Earth. Data for organisms (by common and scientific names) includes an overview, ecology, life history/behavior, conservation, and relevance to humans and ecosystems, media (images, audio and videos as appropriate), maps, a bibliography, and bibliographic references and/or links, collected from databases around the world and/or contributed by members of scientific community.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window Detailed zoological information for animals arranged by taxonomy. Includes descriptions, habitat, behavior, evolution, biology
- This link opens in a new window

Plants Database From the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation service. Provides information about "vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories." Entries will include scientific name, common name(s), classification, species distribution map, and other categories such as images, legal status, links, wildlife connections. Also includes topical categories such as noxious/invasive, endangered/threatened, wetlands, etc.

Handbook of Clinically Tested Herbal Remedies
Call Number: Reference RM666 .H33 H363 2004
Publication Date: 2004

A comprehensive handbook (two volumes of 700+ pages each) that offers information about 160 herbal products that have been thoroughly tested in clinical trials. Details of the products and the clinical trials are provided

Physicians' Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs, Dietary Supplements, and Herbs
Call Number: Reference RM671 .A1 P48 2012
Publication Date: 2012

Complete descriptions of the most commonly used OTC medications, with comprehensive information about ingredients, indications, and interactions of hundreds of OTC drugs

The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
Call Number: Reference RS51 .M4 2006
ISBN: 9780911910001
Publication Date: 2006-11-03
Information on 12,000+ chemical compounds including organic chemicals, botanicals, cosmeceuticals, nutriceuticals, pharmaceuticals, natural products, dyes, traditional medicines. Shows chemical and common names, empirical formula, structures for 8500 compounds, CAS registry numbers and citations to patent and chemical literature (usually first identification or synthesis info). Indexes by CAS registry number, empirical formula, common name, chemical name.

Data.gov This link opens in a new window
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."

Integrated Digitized Biocollections (iDigBio)
Site provides access to millions of records about neontological and paleontological specimens, including information about the specimen, when, where and by whom it was collected, the institution providing the data, and media related to the specimen, curated by museums and other institutions in the US.Search results are provided in two forms: mapped on a global map and in a record containing detailed data about the specimen. Also searchable here are DNA Banks and Genetic Resources Repositories in the U.S., PhyloJIVE (Phylogeny Javascript Information Visualiser and Explorer), Lifemapper, and Arbor Workflows. Funded by the National Science Foundation.
NatureServe Explorer
Data source for information on plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, including rare and endangered species. Information includes scientific and common names, conservation status, distribution maps, images for thousands of species, life histories, and conservation needs. NatureServe is a non-profit organization whose mission is "to provide the scientific basis for effective conservation action". ~ from the organizations's website.

Reference Librarian

Reference Department at Drew University Library

Email Me

Contact:

Drew Library
36 Madison Ave
Madison, NJ 07940

973-408-3588

Library Guides

Subject Guide: Biology: Background

Resources

Reference Librarian