Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online (Grove Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Reference work for art; includes Grove Art Online; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and others.
Oxford Companion to Western Art
The Oxford Companion to Western Art, written by over 100 distinguished art historians and specialists, provides in-depth coverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques.
Encyclopedia of World Art, 17 vols.
Call Number: Ref N31 .E4833
Publication Date: 1959-c1987
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period.
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts This link opens in a new window
Reference on decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures.
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture This link opens in a new window
"Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe; spans over a thousand years of history. Historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments… Illustrations."
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art This link opens in a new window
Full text of art technique/material reference.
Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture This link opens in a new window
Locate reliable information on Medieval art and architecture, and develop connections between different styles, periods, and locales.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, Africana, content from the African American National Biography project, Encyclopedia of African American Art & Architecture, Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, articles from other reference works, bibliographies, timelines, maps, images, primary source documents, links to Internet resources.
Questions? Need Help? Email email@example.com
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library