Skip to Main Content
Encyclopedia of Religion in America This link opens in a new window
"Explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. "
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History This link opens in a new window
Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States; organized around seven time periods that correspond to key eras in American history.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.
Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of Modern Scandals and The Decades (America in the Nineties, etc), and other online reference books
FDsys This link opens in a new window
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
Portal to U.S Government Information Online
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1690-1876, including Early American Newspapers Series 1. includes more than 730 American newspapers.
Offers essential titles from 23 states and the District of Columbia Search full text & view scanned pages. tags: HistoryQL
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of selected articles from Northern and Southern American newspapers, Nov. 1860-April 1865.
Pennsylvania Gazette This link opens in a new window
Text and images from one of the major and longest-running newspapers of 18th century America. Covers 1728-1800, with additional excerpts from The Pennsylvania Packet after 1766. ( Choose Pennsylvania Gazette from the menu when connected. )
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of statistics related to social, political and economic conditions in the United States. Published annually by the government since 1878; as of 2013 published by Proquest. Updated monthly.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Users can customize, save, share, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.
For further information and tutorials, visit the Social Explorer Guide
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library